Skip to main content
UPTIME DOCK & DOORKeep Every Bay Moving.

Rolling Steel Door vs Sectional Door: What the Two Standards Actually Require

A sectional door has hinged panels that move on tracks, either back along the ceiling or up the wall. A rolling steel door has interlocking slats that coil above the opening. Start with the space, insulation and operating duty—not a family-wide winner. Then check what each quoted number actually measures. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 Specifications for Sectional Doors · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 Standard for Non-Fire Rated Rolling Doors

Uptime Dock & Door Research · Last verified September 2026 · Core product standards: 102-2018, 203-2020 and 207-2018; individual source editions listed below.

Print the quote checklist · Download the complete data

Start here: what your opening points to

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Opening conditions and the door family or evidence they point to
If this is true at your openingIt points toBecause
The opening needs a labelled fire closureA listed assembly for that openingA rolling service door is not automatically a fire door. The required listing and label decide—not the material or the existence of a product standard.
There is no clear ceiling space behind the opening for horizontal trackRolling, or a feasible vertical-lift sectional layoutA rolling curtain coils above the opening; vertical-lift sectional doors do not need a horizontal track run.
Sprinklers, ducts, conduit, lights or a crane sit near the openingThe layout that clears themRolling doors still need coil and operator space. Sectional track arrangements vary.
The door has to mount between the jambs (opening sides) or under the lintel (top support)Check the actual mounting drawingMoving the hardware into the opening can reduce clear width or height. It does not remove the hardware’s space requirement.
The opening is wider than about 35 feetCheck specific models in both familiesClopay lists sectional Model 3720 up to 40 ft 2 in wide and Model 3724 up to 36 ft 2 in; sizes over 32 ft 2 in need factory consultation.
The space behind the door is heated or cooledCompare insulated assembliesCompare whole-door heat transmission (U-factor), seals and glazing. Slat or section insulation (R-value) does not settle the choice.
You want daylight through the doorCompare the actual window optionsThe reviewed sectional and rolling models both offer visibility options; glazing can change thermal performance.
Staff open the door by handCompare actual operating effortThe rolling standard’s force ceilings do not prove that the proposed rolling door is easier to use.
The door will cycle far more than 20 times a dayA suitable door-and-operator packageTwenty cycles per day is the limit stated for the named CornellCookson standard line—not a limit on all doors in both families.
High wind is expected while the door is in useA manufacturer-defined operating planEngaged curtain-retaining parts (windlocks) can prevent rolling-door operation. Silence in the sectional standard is not permission to operate in a storm.
Forklifts hit the door regularlyAn impact and repairability assessmentStop treating repeated strikes as acceptable use. Compare application-specific protection and repair options, not a family strength claim.
You are in a hurricane or debris zoneEither, with matched approval evidenceCompare accepted test paths, positive and negative design pressures, dimensions, options and anchorage—not just two numbers in the same units.

Sources: ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA TDS #160 · DASMA 204-2018 PDF · Clopay polyurethane models · Clopay 3728/3729 · Cornell ESD40 · CornellCookson service doors. U.S.-market examples checked 2026-09-17. The “It points to” column is our editorial judgment, not a regulation or an engineered approval. Every row with its basis and source link is in the selection-rules file.

Five things the two standards actually say

  1. The rolling door standard calls for a door designed for at least 10,000 complete cycles, when properly selected, installed, operated and maintained (ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 §3.2.1). The sectional door standard states no numeric door-cycle minimum (ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §6).
  2. The cycle test referenced by the sectional standard, ANSI/DASMA 109-2017, defines its specimen as the door system described in ANSI/DASMA 102 (§2.2 and §11.1). It is not the only door-cycle testing provision: DASMA 207-2018 §17.1 describes a rolling sheet-door assembly test.
  3. DASMA states that spring cycle life may not necessarily coincide with door cycle life (DASMA TDS #190, Important Note).
  4. The rolling standard caps operating force at 35 lbf by chain hoist, 25 lbf by crank and 30 lbf pushed up by hand (§13.1–13.3). Here, lbf means pounds-force. No corresponding cap appears in ANSI/DASMA 102-2018; that is not an exemption from other applicable requirements.
  5. Both product standards reference ANSI/DASMA 108 for wind pressure and ANSI/DASMA 115 for windborne debris, or other means accepted by the authority having jurisdiction. A shared reference does not make unlike test configurations interchangeable.

Sources: ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA 207-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 · DASMA TDS #190. ★ Source-reported statements from the named documents; not Uptime field-test results. These are voluntary standards, not automatically the law for every building.


On this page


What each door actually is

The standards define both products, in plain terms, and it is worth starting there because the trade names are a mess.

A sectional door has horizontal sections joined by hinges. Tracks guide those sections overhead or upward along the wall (ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §2.11). Panels, hinges, rollers, tracks.

A rolling door has interlocking horizontal slats that wrap around a shaft and then around the coiled curtain as the door opens (ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §2.10). Curtain, slats, guides, barrel, hood.

Notice where that second definition comes from. A published definition of a rolling door sits inside the sectional door standard. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

Three products hide behind "roll-up door"

People say roll-up and mean any of three things. They are separate products under separate standards, and they are not interchangeable on a quote.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Three products commonly called roll-up doors
ProductWhat the door leaf isProduct standardExample use
Rolling steel service doorInterlocking slats of steel, stainless steel or aluminumANSI/DASMA 203-2020Warehouses, factories, commercial and industrial openings
Rolling sheet doorFormed metal sheets seamed togetherDASMA 207-2018Self-storage, mini-warehouse, light commercial
Sectional doorHinged horizontal sectionsANSI/DASMA 102-2018Docks, drive-in bays, service bays, conditioned buildings

Source: ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA 207-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018, scope clauses, checked 2026-09-17. Application examples are not exclusive: a building type does not require one door family.

The rolling sheet door standard is explicit: it "is not intended to cover doors such as rigid, folding or multi-leaf sectional type doors, rolling fire doors, rolling doors, perforated slat construction, or special applications" (DASMA 207-2018 §1.3). A self-storage roll-up and a warehouse rolling steel door are different animals wearing the same nickname.

So the first question on any quote is not "rolling or sectional." It is: which of the three products is this?

Two standards that exclude each other

The two product standards have different scopes, but that does not make all their requirements or all quoted figures different.

ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §1.2 says the sectional door standard "is not intended to cover doors generally used for pedestrian traffic nor other types of overhead doors such as rigid, folding, multi-leaf, rolling doors, or special application doors."

ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 §1.3 says the rolling door standard "is not intended to cover doors such as: rolling sheet doors; rolling fire doors; rigid, folding or multi-leaf sectional type doors; perforated slat construction; or special applications."

Two documents. Each one writes the other product out of scope. They still share some requirements, including a complete-cycle definition, a minimum spring index ratio, and maintenance documentation. A spring index ratio is mean coil diameter divided by wire diameter; both specify at least six (§9.3 in 102 and §11.1.3 in 203). Their wind provisions also reference the same test standards. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020.

That has a practical consequence you can use today. When a supplier hands you a spec sheet number, ask what it measures and how it was produced. It may be a component specification, an assembly test, a calculation or a warranty term—not a number produced under either product standard.

Clause by clause: what each standard requires

We checked the cited provisions of ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 (sectional), ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 (rolling steel) and DASMA 207-2018 (rolling sheet) on 17 September 2026 and lined up the requirements relevant to this comparison. The table below shows the rows that change decisions. All 38 rows, with clause numbers for all three standards, are in the download.

“Not stated” means not stated in the named document—not that the product has no obligation under a code, listing, another standard or its manufacturer’s instructions. The authority having jurisdiction (AHJ) is the organization, office or person responsible for approving the equipment or installation. Appendix A statements are informational, not additional test requirements.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

ANSI/DASMA 102-2018, 203-2020 and DASMA 207-2018 clause crosswalk
What you want to knowSectional (ANSI/DASMA 102-2018)Rolling steel (ANSI/DASMA 203-2020)Comparable?
Minimum door cycle lifeNo numeric minimum stated (§6)Design for at least 10,000 cycles, subject to proper selection, installation, operation and maintenance (§3.2.1)No
Cycle-life test methodANSI/DASMA 109 (§6)No cycle-life test method referencedNo
Minimum spring cycle lifeNo numeric minimum; counterbalance assemblies reference ANSI/DASMA 103 (§8.3.1)At least 10,000 cycles (§11.1.2)No
Manual force, chain hoistNot stated35 lbf (156 N) (§13.1)No
Manual force, crankNot stated25 lbf (111 N) (§13.2)No
Manual force, push-upNot stated30 lbf (134 N) (§13.3)No
Wind load designAHJ requirement; ANSI/DASMA 108 or accepted alternative (§9.1.1)AHJ requirement; ANSI/DASMA 108 or accepted alternative (§3.1.1)Conditional
Windborne debrisANSI/DASMA 115 or accepted alternative where required (§9.1.2)ANSI/DASMA 115 or accepted alternative where required (§3.1.2)Conditional
Thermal and air infiltration valuesIf published, values follow ANSI/DASMA 105 (§8.5)No equivalent 105 publication requirement; hood-baffle air-infiltration provisions exist (§2.14, §9)Check model evidence
Material specificationsNo ASTM material specification for the door sectionsSteel, stainless, aluminum and spring-wire ASTM specifications or equivalents (§6.6–§6.8, §11.1.1)No
Panel or curtain sagSection deflection ≤1/120 of door width after at least 24 hours horizontal (§9.2.1)No corresponding horizontal-section limitNo
Track or barrel deflectionHorizontal track ≤1/240 of door height after at least 24 hours (§9.2.2)Barrel pipe ≤0.03 in per foot with specified loading/support (§11.3.1)Different members
Lift cable safety factor5, with cable/drum geometry conditions (§9.4)No corresponding lift-cable rule; curtain attaches to barrel (§6.5)No
Other component safety factorsSix stated factors: brackets 4, drums 4, winding devices 4, retainers 4, bearing plates 2, anchor plates 2; each has its own load basis (§9.2.3, §9.3.2–§9.3.5)No corresponding numeric component factors statedNo
Lock interlock on powered doorsNot stated in this product standardWhen a lock is fitted: interlock switch or torque/current sensing (§7.2)No
Operating in windNo operating-wind approval statedInformational warning: engaged windlocks can prevent operation (App. A.1)No safe-use inference
Loads into the buildingJambs, spring-anchor pads and horizontal-track attachment forces (§10.1.2)Wind/catenary loads at jambs (App. A.2); dead-load support needs its own reviewProject-specific
UL 325 named for operatorsYes, when the operator is listed as part of the door system (§8.2.3)Not in the referenced list; not a safety exemptionNo
Fire-rated counterpart standard102 does not establish a fire-rated assembly listingDASMA index lists 204-2025; retrieved linked PDF is 204-2018Check actual listing

Sources: ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA 207-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 103-2017 · DASMA standards index · DASMA 204-2018 PDF, cited clauses checked 2026-09-17. ★ Source-reported requirements; the comparability column is our editorial interpretation. Force is in lbf and N; safety factors are dimensionless. These are design provisions for the stated scope, not field-adjustment instructions.

Where the requirements genuinely overlap

Wind pressure, windborne debris and the definition of a cycle are useful starting points—not the whole list. Both standards also address spring index, insulation fire behavior, identification and maintenance information. If two quotes each show a 30 psf design pressure—30 pounds-force per square foot—first match pressure direction, accepted test path, door size, options and anchorage. Equal numbers alone do not establish equal suitability. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 · ANSI/DASMA 115-2017.

Where only one standard says anything

Read the “No” column again and a pattern shows up. The sectional standard has detailed structural provisions—deflection limits, component safety factors, cable ratios and shaft twist. The rolling standard adds explicit operating-force ceilings, lock/motor protection and a conditional door-cycle design minimum. Its wind-operation warnings are in an informational appendix.

Neither is better engineering just because one column has more numbers. But if someone tells you one door type is "built to a higher standard," ask which standard, and which clause.

Which one lasts longer?

Nobody can answer that from a spec sheet, and here is why.

The word "cycles" appears on both quotes. It may describe different parts of the product or different kinds of evidence.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Cycle figures and what each quoted number measures
What you seeWhat it actually describesExample
“10,000 cycle springs”The torsion springs onlyClopay lists 10,000 as standard, with 25,000 / 50,000 / 100,000 upgrades.
“25,000 cycle springs”A model-specific spring specification, not the whole doorRaynor’s FlexFit guide specification lists 25,000 standard high-cycle springs and leaves the extended-cycle selection blank.
Standard spring cyclesA spring component ratingOverhead Door lists 20,000 for Model 625 and 10,000 for Model 591 in their standard-feature tables.
“50,000 cycles for the lifetime of the door”A manufacturer usage statement, alongside a daily-use limitCornellCookson: up to 20 complete cycles per day for the named standard service-door line.
“3 year / 20,000 cycle limited warranty”A warranty headline for a door/operator system purchased togetherOverhead Door lists this on both Model 625 and Model 591. Read the actual covered equipment, exclusions and terms; matching headlines do not prove identical coverage.
“Minimum 20,000 cycles”A guide-specification requirement, not an observed service lifeOverhead Door Model 625 Section 083323, dated 08/25.
“Minimum 10,000 cycles”A conditional design minimum in the product standardANSI/DASMA 203-2020 §3.2.1, not a calendar-life promise.

Sources: Clopay polyurethane models · Raynor CSI specification · Overhead Door 625 · Overhead Door 591 · CornellCookson service doors · Model 625 guide specification, 08/25 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020, checked 2026-09-17. ★ Source-reported model-specific disclosures, U.S. market. A complete cycle is closed → fully open → closed. Full rows with links are in the published-figures file. The rolling-system warranty specifies three years or 20,000 cycles, whichever comes first, and excludes counterbalance springs and finish; this is not a warranty on spring life.

DASMA says it plainly in TDS #190, under a heading it calls Important Note: spring cycle life may not necessarily coincide with door cycle life. It points to ANSI/DASMA 109 for door-cycle testing. DASMA TDS #190.

Which brings us to the thing that surprised us most in this research. ANSI/DASMA 109-2017, the cycle test referenced by the sectional product standard, defines its test specimen in §2.2 as "the entire door system as defined in ANSI/DASMA 102." Its references section (§11.1) lists exactly one document: ANSI/DASMA 102. Its failure criteria include "any roller detaching from the track" (§9.1.2). ANSI/DASMA 109-2017.

So the test referenced by ANSI/DASMA 102 is written around the sectional door system. ANSI/DASMA 203 states a numeric door-cycle design minimum but does not reference that test. Rolling sheet doors have their own assembly-testing provision in DASMA 207 §17.1. These are different evidence paths, not proof that either door family lasts longer. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA 207-2018.

What 50,000 cycles looks like in years

CornellCookson publishes a 20-cycle-per-day usage limit and a 50,000-cycle lifetime statement for its standard rolling service doors. The table shows how long it takes to accumulate a count under explicit example workloads. It does not turn that statement—or a spring rating—into a failure date. CornellCookson service doors.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Illustrative complete-cycle workloads
Hypothetical workload10,000 complete cycles20,000 complete cycles50,000 complete cycles100,000 complete cycles
20/day × 365 operating days/year1.4 years2.7 years6.8 years13.7 years
20/day × 260 operating days/year1.9 years3.8 years9.6 years19.2 years
40/day × 260 operating days/year1.0 years1.9 years4.8 years9.6 years
60/day × 260 operating days/year0.6 years1.3 years3.2 years6.4 years

Calculated by Uptime Dock & Door Research. Formula: years to accumulate the count = complete cycles ÷ (complete cycles per operating day × operating days per year). Values are rounded to one decimal place. The counts reflect examples of the manufacturer and standard disclosures above; all workload schedules are our illustrative assumptions. This is arithmetic, not a failure prediction. Source inputs: ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · Model 625 guide specification, 08/25 · CornellCookson service doors · Clopay polyurethane models. All 16 calculations and inputs.

At the hypothetical workload of 40 complete door cycles a day for 260 days a year, the door accumulates 50,000 cycles in 4.8 years. That is a different question from whether the door fails then. Count actual door movements: a truck visit is not itself a door cycle.

What the cycle test actually allows

Read ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 §8.6 and §8.7 and the picture sharpens further. During the test, lubrication is permitted "per the manufacturer's recommendations," but "shall not be done more frequently than once every 1500 cycles." Re-tightening of fasteners carries the same 1,500-cycle limit.

Calculated by us: assuming the first in-test event occurs at cycle 1,500, a 100,000-cycle run has 66 such intervals; 50,000 cycles has 33, 25,000 has 16 and 10,000 has 6. Formula: events = floor(target cycles ÷ 1,500). These are illustrative maximum counts for each activity under that spacing, not a guarantee that the manufacturer permits every event. Initial test preparation is excluded. ANSI/DASMA 109-2017, §§8.6–8.7.

That is a ceiling on the illustrated maintenance frequency, not a field schedule. It also means a test result is not evidence that the door ran without maintenance. The test report should identify what was done (§10.6). ANSI/DASMA 109-2017.

One more oddity worth knowing if you ever have to defend a spec: §2.3 of ANSI/DASMA 109 defines "average annual cycles" as "industry average estimated cycles per year as defined in ANSI/DASMA 102." ANSI/DASMA 102-2018’s definitions run §2.1 to §2.11 and contain no such term. That is a cross-reference gap in these editions—not a basis for inventing an annual cycle default or claiming that 109 governs every manufacturer rating. ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

Two questions that make two quotes comparable

  1. Does this cycle number describe the springs, the door, the operator, or a warranty?
  2. What daily cycle rate is it based on, and how does that compare to ours at our busiest week?

If a supplier cannot answer the first one, the number is not usable.

Which one insulates better?

The quoted assembly and its test evidence decide—not the family name. The interesting part is how the numbers are published, because that is where buyers get caught.

Start with the standards. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §8.5 says published thermal transmittance and air infiltration values must follow ANSI/DASMA 105; it does not require every product to publish a value. ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 does not reference ANSI/DASMA 105. It does contain hood-baffle provisions about air infiltration, so “no air-leakage provision at all” would be wrong. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020.

That does not mean rolling doors have no thermal data. It means you have to check what the published figure describes. R-value describes resistance to heat flow; higher is better for the same scope. U-factor describes heat transmission; lower is better for the same scope. A calculated slat or section R-value is not the reciprocal of a tested whole-door U-factor. DASMA TDS #163.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Selected insulation values and measurement scope
ModelFamilyNumber publishedWhat the source says it measuresMethod stated
Overhead Door 625 StormtiteRolling steelR-value 7.7 · U-value 0.13Insulated slat curtain/profile—not documented here as a tested whole doorNone named for these entries
Cornell Thermiser Max (ESD30)Rolling steelU-factor 0.82 · R-value 8U: curtain, seal and guide system; R: insulated-slat calculationU method not named; R attributed to an ASHRAE Handbook calculation
Cornell Thermiser Max – Low U (ESD40)Rolling steelU-factor 0.532Full assembly, per manufacturerDASMA 105, third-party tested, per Cornell
Overhead Door 591 ThermacoreSectionalU-factor 0.13 · R-value 14.86U: door; R: calculated door sectionU independently tested per ANSI/DASMA 105, per manufacturer
Clopay 3728 / 3729SectionalU 0.19 solid / 0.39 with glass; R 18.4 solid / 8.0 with glassU: tested door; R: section calculation, with-glass figure a weighted average using 3/4-in insulated glassDASMA 105 for U; DASMA TDS-163 for R
Clopay 3722SectionalU-factor 0.19 · R-value 18.4U: tested door; R: calculated door sectionDASMA 105 for U; DASMA TDS-163 for R

Sources: Overhead Door 625 · Cornell ESD30 · Cornell ESD40 · Cornell Low U testing disclosure · Overhead Door 591 · Clopay 3728/3729 · Clopay polyurethane models, U.S.-market models checked 2026-09-17. ★ Source-reported—these are manufacturer statements, not testing by us. R-values use h·ft²·°F/Btu and U-factors use Btu/(h·ft²·°F), following the U.S. customary convention in DASMA TDS #163; the product cells do not consistently print those units. No conversion was performed and no reciprocal was calculated. These are selected disclosures, not a controlled test or a market-wide comparison. Full rows with links.

Now look at the first and fourth rows.

Overhead Door publishes the number 0.13 for both a rolling steel door and a sectional door. On the Model 625 rolling door, the page says that figure describes the insulated slat curtain. On the Model 591 sectional door, the page footnotes that U-factors are independently tested and verified per ANSI/DASMA 105 — a whole-door result.

Same number. Same manufacturer. Two completely different kinds of evidence. Anyone putting those two spec sheets side by side could mistake the figures for equivalent whole-door results. For a separate, explicitly assembly-level example, Cornell reports 0.532 for ESD40 and Overhead Door reports 0.13 for Model 591. That does not supply the missing whole-door test result for Model 625.

Calculated by us: 0.532 ÷ 0.13 = 4.09. ESD40’s stated U-factor is roughly four times Model 591’s stated U-factor, and lower is better for the same scope. Two named models from two manufacturers, both manufacturer-stated, both said to be DASMA 105 tested. Not a controlled comparison, and not a market survey. It does not establish a fourfold energy bill, heat loss for a particular installation or a family-wide winner. Cornell Low U testing disclosure · Overhead Door 591.

Two more things worth carrying into a meeting:

  • Glazing changes the figures. Clopay’s 3728/3729 table lists R 18.4 solid and R 8.0 with 3/4 inch insulated glass; the with-glass R-value is a weighted calculation. Its U-factor changes from 0.19 solid to 0.39 with glass. Ask for the number for the configuration actually quoted. Clopay 3728/3729.
  • Check the model’s size and mounting limits. Cornell’s March 12, 2025 guide lists Thermiser Max – Low U at a maximum width of 21 feet and interior mounting only. Confirm the current quoted configuration. “Interior mounting” describes the mounting side; it does not mean the door can only close an interior partition. Cornell guide, March 2025.

The honest summary: if the space behind the door is conditioned, compare thermal evidence for the actual assemblies being quoted. Among the assembly-level figures in this table, the named sectional examples have lower published U-factors than the named rolling examples, but this selected set does not prove that every sectional door outperforms every rolling door. Make sure the number in front of you describes a door and not a slat.

Which one fits the building?

The fit depends on the mounting and track arrangement, not just “rolling” or “sectional.”

A rolling door avoids the horizontal track run of a standard-lift sectional door. DASMA’s Rolling Door Division lists compact coiling and reduced interference with pipes, fans, ducts and conduits as advantages in TDS #2501. That is a layout advantage—not proof of zero headroom or backroom. DASMA TDS #2501.

Same sheet, advantage 7: rolling doors can mount between jambs or under the lintel. The jambs are the sides of the opening; the lintel is the structural member above it. Moving hardware into the opening can reduce the clear width or height. Ask which dimensions the drawing calls “opening” and which remain clear for traffic. DASMA TDS #2501 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020.

So why do contractors sometimes say a rolling door needs more headroom than a sectional?

Because both statements are about different things. Headroom is space above the opening, backroom is depth into the building, and side room is space beside the opening. A rolling door needs room for its coil, supports and operating equipment. A sectional door’s clearance depends on its size, hardware and track arrangement. Standard lift turns back overhead; high lift rises farther before turning; vertical lift travels upward without a horizontal track run; low-headroom layouts use a different track arrangement. DASMA TDS #160 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

That is why no honest page can print one number of inches for either family.

What to do instead: ask for the manufacturer's clearance drawing for the exact configuration being quoted — mounting position for a rolling door, track type for a sectional door — and check it against a drawing of what is already in that ceiling. Check both the clear opening and possible clashes with a sprinkler main, a duct run, a light, or the operator itself.

And remember the loads go to different places. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 §10.1.2 requires the sectional door's installation instructions to advise that forces at the jambs, at every spring anchor pad and at every horizontal track attachment must be considered in the design of the opening. ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 Appendix A.2 warns that a rolling door's wind loading "can produce substantial catenary forces… as a result of the locking action of the curtain edges within the guides," and that "the jambs must be designed to withstand these loads," over and above wind pressure and door weight.

Do not reduce that to “ceiling versus jambs.” DASMA TDS #251 says a rolling door’s dead load acts on the wall above the opening; wind and curtain forces also act at the jambs. A sectional system’s load path depends on its arrangement. Swapping one for the other calls for a fresh support check. DASMA TDS #251 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

Gauge, and why it is a poor shortcut

"Rolling steel is heavier gauge" does not work as a family-wide rule. Two current product tables give a counterexample.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Selected published steel gauges
DoorFamilyPublished steel
Overhead Door 625 StormtiteRolling steel24 gauge galvanized front slat, 24 gauge back
Clopay 3722Sectional20 gauge (.034 in min) exterior skin, 28 gauge (.016 in min) interior

Sources: Overhead Door 625 · Clopay polyurethane models, U.S.-market product tables checked 2026-09-17. Both ★ Source-reported. Gauge refers to the named steel component; thickness is in inches. Lower gauge numbers mean thicker steel on the same gauge/material basis. The current Clopay row is used here, not the older CMDC-3722-07 sheet.

The point is not that sectional doors are stronger. It is that a single component gauge, taken from one model in one configuration, does not establish how the assembly performs. Both manufacturers offer other gauges. Neither number was produced by a strength test.

If wind resistance matters at your opening, ask for the assembly’s design-pressure and windborne-debris evidence under the accepted test or approval path. Those are different questions from resistance to forced entry or a forklift strike. A wind rating does not answer either of those. ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 · ANSI/DASMA 115-2017.

Wind and flying debris: how to compare the evidence

Both product standards point to the same two test standards.

  • ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 applies pressure to the test assembly. Its base procedure includes a 50% design-load preload, then design load for 10 seconds and 1.5 times design load for 10 seconds, in both directions. The door must meet the retention and operability criteria in §11. This summary is not the full procedure or its jurisdiction-specific appendices.
  • ANSI/DASMA 115-2017 uses a nominal 2×4 Southern Pine missile and its carrier, with a combined weight of 9 to 9.5 lb, at a minimum of 50 ft per second, followed by cyclic pressure testing. Three specimens must pass. These are laboratory test conditions, not a do-it-yourself test.

Sources: ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 · ANSI/DASMA 115-2017, base test procedures, checked 2026-09-17. ★ Source-reported. No test result for a particular quoted door is supplied by these procedure summaries.

Both door types can use these test paths. Compare the accepted method, positive and negative design pressures, door size, glazing, reinforcement and anchorage. Do not compare one proposal’s design pressure with another’s higher test pressure as if they were the same rating.

One difference inside the debris test is worth knowing. ANSI/DASMA 115 §8.4.1 defines three target zones for sectional doors, including a section joint at a hinge, a thin section area and a bottom-corner area. §8.4.2 defines two target zones for rolling doors, near the centre and a bottom corner. Those are not three impacts versus two: §8.5 requires at least two impacts on each of three specimens, with additional provisions for glazing and vents. ANSI/DASMA 115-2017.

And an operating warning for rolling doors comes from ANSI/DASMA 203-2020’s informational Appendix A.1: "Most rolling doors with windlocks cannot be operated when wind load engages the windlocks, due to the sliding friction of the curtain within the guides." Windlocks are curtain-edge parts that engage the guides to help retain the curtain under wind load. Appendix A.3 adds that rolling doors may retain some curtain curvature after wind loading. ANSI/DASMA 203-2020.

If you run a site where the door has to move during a storm, ask for the manufacturer’s operating limits and a site operating plan. A closed-door structural rating—and silence about operating wind in another standard—is not a safe-operation approval.

Why the wind standards look like they exclude rolling doors

Here is a trap we walked into ourselves, and it is worth flagging because a plans examiner could walk into it too.

If you open ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 and read its referenced-standards list, ANSI/DASMA 108 is printed as "Standard Method for Testing Sectional Garage Doors: Determination of Structural Performance Under Uniform Static Air Pressure Difference." No rolling doors. You would conclude the standard does not cover them.

It does. The standard's own cover reads "Sectional Garage Doors, Rolling Doors and Flexible Doors," and §1.1 says the test method applies to "garage door, rolling door and flexible door assemblies."

We checked how DASMA titles its own standards across its own documents, on 17 September 2026.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

How ANSI/DASMA 108 and 115 titles vary by document
StandardWhere the title appearsDoor types named in the title excerptNames rolling doors?
ANSI/DASMA 108-2017The standard's own coverSectional Garage Doors, Rolling Doors and Flexible DoorsYes
ANSI/DASMA 108-2017DASMA standards index pageSectional Garage Doors and Rolling DoorsYes
ANSI/DASMA 108-2017Reference list inside ANSI/DASMA 102-2018Sectional Garage DoorsNo
ANSI/DASMA 108-2017Reference list inside ANSI/DASMA 203-2020Sectional Doors, Rolling Doors and Flexible DoorsYes
ANSI/DASMA 108-2017Reference list inside DASMA 207-2018Garage Doors and Rolling DoorsYes
ANSI/DASMA 115-2017The standard's own coverSectional Doors, Rolling Doors, and Flexible DoorsYes
ANSI/DASMA 115-2017DASMA standards index pageSectional Garage DoorsNo
ANSI/DASMA 115-2017Reference list inside ANSI/DASMA 102-2018Garage DoorsNo

Sources: ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA 207-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 · ANSI/DASMA 115-2017 · DASMA standards index, cover/reference-list text and index checked 2026-09-17. ★ Source-reported wording observations, not independent scope determinations. Seventeen rows covering standards 105, 108, 109 and 115 are in the title-audit file.

ANSI/DASMA 115’s own foreword records that its scope was expanded to include rolling and flexible doors in 2010, with ANSI recognition of the revised standard in 2014. The index entry on dasma.com still used a narrower, sectional-only title when we checked it. We did not establish the historical origin of that index wording. ANSI/DASMA 115-2017 · DASMA standards index.

None of this changes what the standards require. It changes what a specifier reading a reference list could assume. If you are writing a spec, cite the standard number and edition, then check the actual scope—not just a cover or a reference-list title.

When the opening decides for you

Five conditions need checking before anybody’s preference matters.

1. The opening needs a rated fire closure. A service-door standard is not a fire listing. DASMA’s index lists 204-2025 for fire-rated rolling door assemblies, but the linked PDF we retrieved is headed 204-2018; we are not attributing 2025 clause text to it. ANSI/DASMA 102 does not establish a sectional fire-door listing. That does not prove that no listed sectional assembly can exist. Ask for the listing and the label for the specific assembly, and have the AHJ confirm the opening requirement. DASMA standards index · DASMA 204-2018 PDF · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

2. The space behind the door is conditioned. Covered above. Match thermal and leakage evidence for the actual quoted assembly. Sectional standard §8.5 governs values if published; it does not require every product to publish a number.

3. Someone has to open it by hand. ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 §13.1–13.3 caps rolling-door force at 35 lbf by chain hoist, 25 lbf by crank and 30 lbf pushed up. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 states no corresponding operating-force cap. That does not mean a sectional door is hard to operate or that no applicable limit exists elsewhere. Get the proposed assembly’s operating information instead of choosing from the absence of a clause. ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018.

4. The door is on an accessible route. DASMA 207-2018 addresses this for rolling sheet doors: §13.3.1 states 15 lbf for manual operation without a motor and 25 lbf with a motor, with a product-standard exception for specified backup-power and disconnect arrangements. That is not an ADA exemption. The U.S. Access Board’s guide to ADA §404.2.9 describes a 5 lbf opening-force limit for doors within its scope, with stated exclusions for fire doors, exterior hinged doors and latch retraction. If accessibility is in play, this is a question for the design professional, not the door catalogue. DASMA 207-2018 · U.S. Access Board ADA guide.

5. There is genuinely no ceiling space. Not “tight”—none. A rolling door avoids a horizontal track run, but still needs coil and operator clearance. A vertical-lift sectional arrangement also avoids a horizontal run when the height and support conditions allow it. Check the whole layout. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · DASMA TDS #160.

Dock openings

Dock positions carry their own coordination problems, and DASMA treats them separately. TDS #182, Technical Considerations for Dock Doors, defines a dock door as serving a loading dock and allowing transport-vehicle access for loading and unloading, using definitions based on ANSI/LODEM MH30.3. The accessed sheet is dated 12/13, revised 7/16 and 11/16, and reaffirmed 3/20; it does not establish joint authorship with LODEM. DASMA TDS #182.

A few things at a dock push the decision harder than the door type does:

  • The leveler, seals and bumpers are part of the opening. The door has to close cleanly against whatever the dock equipment does to the threshold.
  • Plan for impact without accepting repeated strikes. TDS #182 discusses impact-resistant and breakaway options. Ask the supplier how the specific damaged section or curtain would be assessed and repaired; the two product standards do not establish a forklift-impact winner.
  • Bollards and dock lighting have to clear the door. TDS #182 specifically warns that bollard placement should consider door components such as locks and reinforcements for high wind load, and that dock lighting should sit far enough from the door to keep door materials away from ignition.
  • Check speed against the actual process. Overhead Door’s 08/25 guide specification for Model 625 lists a selectable variable opening and closing speed of 6 to 12 inches per second. Confirm the operating package being quoted rather than treating that guide entry as a tested speed for every configuration.

Sources: DASMA TDS #182 · Model 625 guide specification, 08/25. The speed is ★ Source-reported, model- and document-specific.

If throughput is the actual problem, compare speed, duty and the complete operating package. High-performance and high-speed lines may belong on the shortlist: DASMA publishes 402-2020 and 403-2026 for those categories. CornellCookson’s standard service-door page points beyond its stated 20 cycles per day to its high-performance line; that is not a universal cutoff for every rolling or sectional product. DASMA 402-2020 · DASMA 403-2026 · CornellCookson service doors.

Can you swap one for the other?

Sometimes — but "the opening is the same size" does not make it a drop-in.

Three things need checking when the door type changes:

Where the load goes. A standard-lift sectional door has overhead track supports as well as loads at the opening. A rolling door’s dead load acts on the wall above the opening, and wind loading can produce substantial forces at the jambs. Existing supports are not automatically right for a replacement assembly. Get the project-specific load information from the manufacturer and have somebody qualified look at it. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · DASMA TDS #251.

What is in the way. A rolling door avoids a standard sectional door’s horizontal track but occupies coil and operating space near the opening. Sectional clearance changes with track type. Check the existing equipment against the proposed open-door envelope.

The operating package. Check operator compatibility, mounting position, controls and duty rating for the proposed assembly.

And before you replace anything: check whether the problem is the door type or a repairable fault. A door that has started binding, sagging or refusing to close is a service question, not a selection question. Our commercial overhead door problems reference covers describing the symptom safely. If the door is jammed, hanging crooked, or dropped on its own, stop using it, keep people clear of it and get a qualified company to look at it — those conditions are not something to test your way through. Springs, cables and attached hardware are under high tension; adjustments belong to qualified professionals following the manufacturer’s instructions. Clopay Commercial Door Maintenance.

What a like-for-like quote should include

This is the part you can print. Fourteen fields. When both suppliers answer all fourteen for the same opening, you can see which figures and which work are actually comparable. Open the printable checklist.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Fourteen-field like-for-like quote checklist
#Ask forWhy
1Exact opening size and which of the three products this isRolling steel, rolling sheet and sectional are different products
2Mounting arrangement or track typeFace of wall, between jambs, under lintel; or standard, high, vertical, low-headroom
3Headroom, side room and backroom for the exact configurationFamily averages do not establish fit at a real opening
4A drawing of the open door against what is already thereCheck the racking, sprinklers, ducts, lights, cranes and operator
5The thermal figure and what it measuresA slat value and a tested door value can be the same number
6Air leakage, test pressure and test methodA leakage value needs its unit, test conditions and configuration
7Whether that figure applies to the configuration quotedWindows and pass doors can change it
8The cycle figure and what it measuresSprings, door, operator or warranty—four different things
9Your own normal and peak daily cycles, in writingDo not substitute a catalogue example for actual demand
10The operator’s own duty ratingThe operator’s duty must fit the proposed door and workload
11Positive/negative design pressure and accepted assembly evidenceMatch size, options, anchorage and any debris requirement
12Fire listing and label, if the opening needs oneSteel is not a rating
13Complete installed scope and stated exclusionsDoor, operator, controls, freight, removal, access equipment, electrical, structural, permits
14Written warranty terms, lead time and required maintenanceRead the covered components and exclusions—not only the cycle headline

All fourteen fields are our editorial purchasing prompts, grounded in the standards and manufacturer disclosures on this page—not a regulatory inspection checklist. Sources: ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 · DASMA TDS #163 · CornellCookson service doors · Overhead Door rolling-system warranty. Download the checklist as a CSV with blank columns for two quotes.

Where the industry's advantages list comes from

DASMA publishes a twelve-point rolling-door advantages list. It is useful to know what that source is—and what it does not establish.

The list is DASMA Technical Data Sheet #2501, "Rolling Door Advantages," dated 11 April 2023. It lists compact design, size range, customisation, minimal components, material selection, durability, mounting versatility, operational versatility, wind load resistance, security, fire rating and ventilation. It also states that rolling doors were first introduced in Columbus, Ohio, in 1895; that historical statement is DASMA’s attribution, not independent historical research by us. DASMA TDS #2501.

It is a good document and we have cited it several times on this page. Two things a reader should know about it:

It was published by DASMA's Rolling Door Division — the committee of rolling door manufacturers — and it closes by directing readers to that division's member companies. That does not make it wrong. It makes it advocacy, and it should be read as such.

We did not find a matching “Sectional Door Advantages” sheet in the inspected DASMA technical-data-sheet index. That is a bounded observation about that index, not proof that no equivalent resource exists. The rolling-door list is not a controlled comparison of the two families. DASMA technical-sheet index · DASMA TDS #2501.

The points worth a follow-up question are “durability”—which the sheet itself qualifies with proper design, installation and maintenance—and “minimal components,” which is a design description, not a maintenance-cost finding. Neither of the two product standards supplies a comparison of maintenance costs, and we did not find a matched field dataset supporting a general cost winner. DASMA TDS #2501 · ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · ANSI/DASMA 203-2020.

Common questions

Is a roll-up door the same as a rolling steel door? Not necessarily. "Roll-up" covers both rolling steel slat doors (ANSI/DASMA 203) and rolling sheet doors (DASMA 207), and people sometimes use it for sectional doors too. The rolling sheet door standard explicitly excludes rolling doors from its scope. Ask which product a quote is for.

Can a sectional door be fire rated? The DASMA documents reviewed here do not settle whether a particular sectional assembly has an appropriate fire listing. The lack of a sectional fire-door counterpart in that index is not proof that such a listed assembly cannot exist. If the opening needs a rated closure, ask for the listing and label for the specific assembly and let the authority having jurisdiction confirm it. ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 · DASMA standards index · DASMA 204-2018 PDF.

Which one is cheaper? We found no traceable national price series for either door type, so we are not publishing a number. Price depends on size, gauge, insulation, wind rating, operator, mounting and what installation work is included — which is exactly what fields 13 and 14 of the checklist are for. Get both quoted on the same scope and the comparison answers itself.

My quote says 25,000 cycles and the other says 50,000. Which is better? Unknown until you ask what each number measures. One may be a spring rating and the other a warranty term or a usage statement. DASMA’s own guidance is that spring cycle life may not coincide with door cycle life. DASMA TDS #190.

Can a rolling steel door be insulated? Yes. Cornell reports a full-assembly U-factor of 0.532 for ESD40, with third-party DASMA 105 testing; that is a named example, not a market-best claim. Just check whether the figure you are shown describes the assembly or only the slat, and check the size and mounting limits. Cornell’s March 12, 2025 guide lists a 21-foot maximum width and interior mounting for that model; confirm the current proposal. Cornell Low U testing disclosure · Cornell guide, March 2025.

Which handles forklift impact better? The two product standards do not establish a forklift-impact comparison. Ask for application-specific impact protection, replaceable-part options and the manufacturer’s repair process for the proposed assembly. DASMA’s dock-door guidance identifies impact-resistant and breakaway options, but that is not a family-wide comparison. DASMA TDS #182.

How we built this

We checked the cited provisions and cross-references in six core DASMA documents—ANSI/DASMA 102-2018, ANSI/DASMA 203-2020, DASMA 207-2018, ANSI/DASMA 108-2017, ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 and ANSI/DASMA 115-2017—directly at the issuer on 17 September 2026. Additional standards, technical sheets and manufacturer documents are identified in the source register. We assembled 38 source-linked crosswalk rows and marked whether the cited requirements support a direct, conditional or no like-for-like comparison. Those judgments are editorial analysis, not certification.

We then checked named manufacturer product pages and specification documents—Overhead Door, Cornell, CornellCookson, Clopay and Raynor—and recorded each figure together with its measurement scope, configuration, source location and document vintage. This is a purposeful selection of disclosures, not a representative market sample or a count of independent corporate groups. Where a source did not state a figure, the cell is blank. Blank means not stated in the material we read. It does not mean zero.

Two evidence labels appear on this page, alongside editorial judgment:

  • ★ Source-reported — checked in the cited primary source. A manufacturer figure is that manufacturer’s statement for the named model and configuration. Where the maker cites independent testing, we attribute that claim; we did not independently test the door or audit the laboratory report. A manufacturer-calculated R-value is still source-reported here because we did not perform that calculation.
  • ● Calculated — computed by Uptime Dock & Door Research from identified inputs, with the formula and assumptions shown next to the result.
  • Editorial judgment — our comparison interpretation or purchasing prompt, grounded in the cited facts. It is not a measured result or a legal requirement.

We did not convert units, compute R from U or U from R, average figures across models, or rank products by a score we invented. Derived values were computed with a script, which is published with the data files so anybody can check the arithmetic.

What we could not verify

  • Headroom and clearance tables. This reference does not establish project-specific clearances. Use the manufacturer’s drawing for the exact opening, mounting, track and operator arrangement; do not use a family-wide number.
  • Installed cost. We did not find a traceable national installed-price series suitable for this comparison. We would need matched scope, date, geography and installation conditions before publishing an average.
  • Field lifespan and maintenance costs. The standards and catalogue cycle figures do not supply a matched field-survival or maintenance-cost comparison of the two families.
  • Matched thermal tests. The named figures preserve the manufacturer’s stated scope and method, but we did not obtain matching test specimens and full laboratory reports for every model. A ratio of two disclosed U-factors is not an energy-savings estimate.
  • One missing model value. A model-specific air-infiltration value for ESD40 was not established in the reviewed pages, so its numerical field is blank in the download. No other model’s value or code limit has been substituted.
  • The 204 edition link. DASMA’s index lists 204-2025, but its link returned a PDF headed 204-2018. We use the accessible document’s scope and listing distinction, not unverified 2025 requirements.
  • Manufacturer pages are generally undated. Their rows in our data record the date we read them, not a document edition. Product lines change.

Two more honest boundaries. These standards are voluntary; what governs your building includes the code your jurisdiction has adopted, applicable accessibility requirements, the accepted listing, manufacturer instructions and the project specification. Check the actual edition before citing a standard in a specification. This page does not approve a design or replace equipment-specific safety procedures.

Sources

Cited material checked 17 September 2026. Product pages are snapshots unless a publication date or document edition is stated. The source register records the verification scope.

  • S01 — ANSI/DASMA 102-2018 Specifications for Sectional Doors. DASMA; 2018. Primary source.
  • S02 — ANSI/DASMA 203-2020 Standard for Non-Fire Rated Rolling Doors. DASMA; 2020. Primary source.
  • S03 — DASMA 207-2018 Standard for Rolling Sheet Doors. DASMA; 2018. Primary source.
  • S04 — ANSI/DASMA 108-2017 Structural Performance Under Uniform Static Air Pressure Difference. DASMA; 2017. Primary source.
  • S05 — ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 Determination of Life Cycling Performance. DASMA; 2017. Primary source.
  • S06 — ANSI/DASMA 115-2017 Missile Impact and Cyclic Wind Pressure. DASMA; 2017. Primary source.
  • S07 — DASMA Standards index page. DASMA; Undated index snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S08 — DASMA Technical Data Sheets index. DASMA; Undated index snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S09 — DASMA TDS #190 Factors Affecting Spring Cycle Life. DASMA; 3/19/14, reaff. 4/17 and 2/21. Primary source.
  • S10 — DASMA TDS #2501 Rolling Door Advantages. DASMA Rolling Door Division; 4/11/23. Primary source.
  • S11 — DASMA TDS #182 Technical Considerations for Dock Doors. DASMA; 12/13; revised 7/16 and 11/16; reaffirmed 3/20. Primary source.
  • S12 — DASMA 402-2020 Specification for High Performance Doors and Grilles. DASMA; 2020. Primary source.
  • S13 — DASMA 403-2026 Specification for High Speed Doors and Grilles. DASMA; 2026. Primary source.
  • S14 — Overhead Door Model 625 Stormtite rolling steel service door. Overhead Door Corporation; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S15 — Overhead Door Model 625 architectural specification, Section 083323. Overhead Door Corporation; 08/25. Primary source.
  • S16 — Overhead Door Model 591 Thermacore sectional steel door. Overhead Door Corporation; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S17 — Cornell Thermiser Max - Low U insulated rolling door (ESD40). Cornell / CornellCookson, Clopay Corporation; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S18 — Cornell Thermiser Max insulated rolling door (ESD30). Cornell / CornellCookson, Clopay Corporation; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S19 — CornellCookson rolling service doors. CornellCookson, LLC; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S20 — Cornell, Understanding Insulated Rolling Doors. Cornell / CornellCookson; Published March 12, 2025. Primary source.
  • S21 — Clopay insulated polyurethane commercial doors. Clopay; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S22 — Clopay Model 3722 commercial data sheet CMDC-3722-07. Clopay; REV0512. Primary source.
  • S23 — Clopay insulated polystyrene commercial doors. Clopay; Undated product-page snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S24 — Raynor sectional overhead doors CSI specification 08 36 13. Raynor; V091025. Primary source.
  • S26 — Clopay Architectural Series Models 3728/3729. Clopay; Undated product-page snapshot. Primary source.
  • S27 — Cornell Thermiser Max – Low U technical landing page. Cornell; Undated product-page snapshot. Primary source.
  • S28 — DASMA TDS #163 Thermal Performance. DASMA; Revised 7/6/22. Primary source.
  • S29 — DASMA TDS #251 Rolling Door Applied Loads. DASMA; Revised 12/24. Primary source.
  • S30 — DASMA TDS #160 Sectional Garage Door Terminology. DASMA; Revision 1/19 shown in document. Primary source.
  • S31 — ANSI/DASMA 103-2017 Standard for Counterbalance Systems on Residential Sectional Garage Doors. DASMA; 2017. Primary source.
  • S32 — Overhead Door Rolling Door and Operator System Limited Warranty C900-945. Overhead Door Corporation; 4/2025. Primary source.
  • S33 — U.S. Access Board: Guide to the ADA Accessibility Standards — Entrances, Doors and Gates. U.S. Access Board; Guide to 2010 ADA Standards; page checked 2026-09-17. Primary source.
  • S34 — DASMA 204-2018 Standard for Fire Rated Rolling Door Assemblies. DASMA; 2018 PDF; index lists 204-2025. Primary source.
  • S35 — Clopay Commercial Door Maintenance. Clopay; Undated guidance snapshot; read 2026-09-17. Primary source.

Downloads and how to cite

Rolling Door vs Sectional Door Standards and Specification Ledger, version 1.1.0. 208 rows across eight CSV files, compiled by Uptime Dock & Door Research from the sources above. Sources checked 17 September 2026. U.S.-market reference, not a representative national sample.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Rolling Door vs Sectional Door Standards and Specification Ledger downloads
FileRowsContents
rolling-vs-sectional-standards-crosswalk.csv3838 requirement topics across three product standards, with clause links and comparison limits
rolling-vs-sectional-published-figures.csv43Manufacturer disclosures, measurement scope, document vintage and model-specific calculated summaries
rolling-vs-sectional-standard-title-audit.csv17How selected standard titles differ across issuer documents; full wording and sources
rolling-vs-sectional-definitions.csv1818 selected terms, paraphrased with clause attribution—not a reproduced glossary
rolling-vs-sectional-selection-rules.csv2222 editorial decision prompts, each linked to its factual basis
rolling-vs-sectional-quote-checklist.csv1414 purchasing prompts with blank Quote A and Quote B columns
rolling-vs-sectional-sources.csv35Issuer, edition, verification date and precise access/scope notes
rolling-vs-sectional-calculations.csv21All 16 workload cells, four illustrative maintenance-event calculations and one two-model U-factor ratio
rolling-vs-sectional-ledger.jsonAll eight CSV tables in full, with matching fields and null values for empty cells
rolling-vs-sectional-data-dictionary.mdField definitions, units, missing-value rules and dataset interpretation
rolling-vs-sectional-quote-checklist.html14 promptsPrint-ready two-quote worksheet
rolling-vs-sectional-calculations.pyRecalculate values and check CSV/JSON parity without third-party libraries

The crosswalk links each standard column to its issuer; other data rows carry source links or identify their calculation inputs. Please keep the manufacturer or standards citation attached to any figure you reuse—the scope note is the part that makes it accurate.

The downloads contain selected factual observations, brief terminology paraphrases and our own annotations. They do not reproduce complete standards, proprietary drawings or manuals. No blanket license is asserted for third-party material.

Suggested citation

Uptime Dock & Door Research. Rolling Door vs Sectional Door Standards and Specification Ledger, version 1.1.0. Sources checked 17 September 2026. Rolling steel door vs sectional door.


Uptime Dock & Door Research is the research and reference section of uptimedockanddoor.com. Uptime Dock & Door is an independent commercial service-referral publisher for loading docks and commercial doors. It is not a manufacturer, a standards body, a testing laboratory or a repair contractor, and it has no affiliation with DASMA or with any manufacturer named on this page. More about who we are and how we work.