Skip to main content
UPTIME DOCK & DOORKeep Every Bay Moving.

Dock Leveler Capacity: What the Rating Means, and How to Size One for Your Forklift

Dock leveler capacity depends on the rating method, the forklift and load, and how the dock is used. Start with the configured truck's weight plus its heaviest carried load, then apply the leveler manufacturer's selection method. A 2.5 multiplier is common in published guides, but it is not a universal rule or proof that an existing leveler is suitable.

Uptime Dock & Door Research · Last verified September 2026 · Forklift figures from manufacturer specification sheets dated ©2016 (internal combustion) and ©2026 (electric).

Key findings

★ Source-reported means we checked the figure in the cited source. ● Calculated means we computed it from cited figures and show the formula. Both are verified.

  1. ★ The manufacturer's tag is not automatically an allowable rolling load. LODEM's Dock Levelers 101 warns that the capacity tag may not reflect gross roll-over load and makes selection application-dependent. (LODEM, June 2014, pp.4–5)
  2. ● Two published examples differ by 25%. For an 8,000 lb truck carrying 4,000 lb, Chalfant's light-to-normal-use 2.0× example gives 24,000 lb; AB Equipment's 2.5× example gives 30,000 lb. Those are source-specific selection examples, not interchangeable approvals. (Chalfant; AB Equipment; Uptime calculation, checked September 17, 2026.)
  3. ● The loaded front axle carries 84.1% to 89.2% of the calculated axle total, with an unweighted model mean of 87.2%, in 23 Toyota counterbalance-forklift configurations rated from 3,000 to 6,500 lb. These are North American specification-sheet rows, not a fleet survey. (IC sheet, ©2016, pp.4–6; electric sheet, ©2026, pp.5–8)
  4. ● An equal-share front-tire estimate is 1.68× to 1.78× one-quarter of total weight, mean 1.74× across those same 23 rows. This calculation divides the front axle by two; it does not measure actual wheel forces or establish a leveler multiplier. (Toyota IC; Toyota electric; Uptime calculation.)
  5. ● The electric sheet's weight rows differ by 1,840 lb to 3,300 lb, across 11 selected models, when we compare the loaded axle sum with the Total Weight row plus rated load. Labels and footnotes are inconsistent, so these gaps are not verified battery weights. (Toyota Core Electric, ©2026, pp.5–8; Uptime calculation.)
  6. ● Two named 5,000 lb-class configurations differ by 1,980 lb loaded — 15.4%. That compares the electric 8FBC25U's calculated axle total with the gasoline 8FGU25's, from different model families and document editions. It is not a general electric-versus-gasoline weight rule. (Toyota IC, ©2016; Toyota electric, ©2026; Uptime calculation.)
  7. ★ Rating names matter. Poweramp lists Comparative Industry Rating (CIR) and dynamic capacity separately on its HM specification sheet. Do not compare a CIR number with another manufacturer's rolling-load or load-class figure as though they were the same measure. (Poweramp HM, 6/22, p.2)
  8. ★ Federal OSHA requires support for maximum intended load, not a universal 2.5 factor. The cited general-industry provisions include weight and force in that load; a dockboard's rated capacity must never be exceeded. (29 CFR 1910.21(b); 1910.26(a); 1910.178(n)(11))
  9. ★ The published rating examples use different scales. This page keeps 13 model or chart entries with their own labels and editions, rather than combining CIR, static/service capacity, load usage and performance designations into one universal buying ladder. Jump to the reference table.

Use the weight worksheet and calculator · Compare the published methods · Download the complete data

On this page


What a dock leveler capacity rating means

It is a rating tied to a manufacturer's method and the intended application. Pentalift describes its own quoted capacities as static, evenly distributed loads in the stored position. That does not make every manufacturer's rating a static rating.

Pentalift, which builds levelers, puts it directly: static capacity is an engineered calculation of the structure's ability to support an evenly distributed "still" load placed on the platform in the stored position.

Two terms before we go further. The deck (also called the platform or ramp) is the steel surface a forklift drives across. The stored position is the unit's parked position: flush with the floor on a conventional pit leveler, but upright on a vertical-storing design. Blue Giant vertical-storing brochure.

Now the distinction to check on your quote. The industry's own primer — Dock Levelers 101, published by LODEM, the Loading Dock Equipment Manufacturers product section of MHI — opens its capacity definition with a warning:

the manufacturer's capacity tag rating may not reflect the gross roll-over load

That is the manufacturers' own trade group, in its own primer, saying the number on the plate is not automatically the weight you can roll over it. The same document ties the manufacturer's assigned rating to the design and the user's application.

Read that carefully. The rating is tied to an assumed application. Change the application — a heavier truck, more trips, a steeper approach — and the original selection needs checking.

Sources: LODEM, Dock Levelers 101, June 2014; Pentalift, Dock Leveler Capacity. Verified September 17, 2026.

What a loaded forklift actually puts on the deck

The loaded axle rows in our 23-model sample put roughly 87% of the combined axle weight on the front axle, not evenly over four wheels.

Gross vehicle weight — the truck plus its load — is a total. It does not describe how that weight is split across the wheels or what happens at a transition. That is why the application details belong beside the weight.

These Toyota specification sheets publish the axle split. We pulled the loaded weight-distribution rows from two Toyota specification sheets — the Core IC Pneumatic line (©2016) and the Core Electric line (©2026) — and computed the front-axle share for all 23 models.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Toyota forklift axle-load and front-axle-share calculations, 23 configurations
Forklift modelPowerRated load (lb)Loaded axle total, calculated (lb)Loaded front axle, reported (lb)Front axle share, calculatedEqual-share front tire, calculated (lb)
8FGU15Gasoline3,0008,5007,56088.9%3,780
8FDU15Diesel3,0008,5007,56088.9%3,780
8FGU18Gasoline3,5009,4208,40089.2%4,200
8FDU18Diesel3,5009,5608,46088.5%4,230
8FGU20Gasoline4,00011,0809,75088.0%4,875
8FDU20Diesel4,00011,2309,81087.4%4,905
8FGU25Gasoline5,00012,84011,26087.7%5,630
8FDU25Diesel5,00012,99011,32087.1%5,660
8FGU30Gasoline6,00015,27013,29087.0%6,645
8FDU30Diesel6,00015,27013,29087.0%6,645
8FGU32Gasoline6,50016,00014,05087.8%7,025
8FDU32Diesel6,50016,15014,11087.4%7,055
8FBC15UElectric3,0009,7708,36085.6%4,180
8FBC18UElectric3,50010,5409,23087.6%4,615
8FBC20UElectric4,00013,14011,05084.1%5,525
8FBC20U-COMPElectric4,00013,14011,05084.1%5,525
8FBC25UElectric5,00014,82012,68085.6%6,340
8FBC25U-COMPElectric5,00014,79012,74086.1%6,370
8FBCH25UElectric5,00014,55012,79087.9%6,395
8FBC28UElectric5,50015,98013,91087.0%6,955
8FBC30UElectric6,00016,88014,70087.1%7,350
8FBC32UElectric6,50017,63015,42087.5%7,710
8FBCH32UElectric6,50017,74015,43087.0%7,715

Source-reported inputs: Toyota's full-rated-load axle weights, in pounds, for the named configurations. Loaded axle total = front + rear; front share = front ÷ total; front-tire estimate = front ÷ 2, assuming equal sharing. All twelve IC rows reconcile with Total Weight + rated load. The electric sheet uses different weight-row labels and has internal discrepancies discussed under Getting the forklift weight right. Sources: Toyota Core IC Pneumatic, ©2016, pp.4–6; Toyota Core Electric, ©2026, pp.5–8. Verified September 17, 2026.

Take one row. A Toyota 8FGU25 — the 5,000 lb-class gasoline configuration on this sheet — has a calculated loaded axle total of 12,840 lb. Toyota publishes 11,260 lb of that on the front axle. Split equally between two front tires, that is 5,630 lb per tire.

If you assumed the weight spread over four wheels, you would have guessed 3,210 lb. The equal-share front-tire estimate is 1.75× that four-wheel estimate.

That ratio held on every model we checked: 1.68× to 1.78×, mean 1.74×. Two spec sheet editions, with copyright years ten years apart; the result still describes only these selected configurations.

This shows why gross weight alone does not describe wheel loading. It does not tell us what a selection multiplier should be. That still depends on the leveler rating method and the operating conditions.

Pentalift and LODEM also identify operating conditions and equipment features that can affect selection:

  • Speed, because impact at a transition is part of the application.
  • Grade — the slope above or below dock height.
  • Three-wheel trucks and narrow tires, which put the same weight on less steel.
  • Turning on the deck instead of crossing straight.
  • Front-end attachments — clamps, slip-sheet forks, carpet poles. LODEM names these specifically as things that affect selection.

Sources: Pentalift capacity guidance; LODEM, Dock Levelers 101, pp.4–5. Verified September 17, 2026.

Static, dynamic, roll-over, CIR: the words on your quote

They describe different rating bases and loading conditions. A document can show more than one, so keep the label attached to the number.

Blue Giant, which builds levelers, says as much on its own selection page. It tells readers that picking the right capacity is confusing because of the number of variables involved, and that manufacturers use different terminology for capacity — rated load, dynamic capacity, rollover capacity — which adds to the confusion.

Here is the crosswalk.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Dock leveler capacity terminology crosswalk, 14 terms
TermWhat it means hereSource defining or using it
Capacity (nameplate or tag rating)The rating the manufacturer assigns to the design for an assumed application. The industry's own primer states the tag rating may not reflect the gross roll-over load.LODEM, Dock Levelers 101, June 2014
Static capacityAn engineered calculation of what the structure supports as an evenly distributed still load, with the platform in the stored position.Pentalift, Dock Leveler Capacity
Dynamic capacityCapacity considered with the load in motion, allowing for impact from speed, grade, tire count, turning and attachments.Pentalift, Dock Leveler Capacity
Roll-over capacityThe gross weight that can be rolled over the leveler: the forklift's weight plus its maximum lifting capacity.Chalfant, Selecting Dock Leveler Capacity
CIR (Comparative Industry Rating)A rating label used on McGuire and Poweramp specifications. Do not substitute a gross rolling load for it.McGuire HP Series; Poweramp HM Series spec sheet
Live LoadBlue Giant’s capacity term on its selection page, which identifies a Live Load-to-CIR reference chart. No numerical conversion cells reproduced here.Blue Giant, Leveler Selection: Load Class & Capacity
Performance ratingA number (30, 35, 40, 50, 60, 80 or 100) read off a matrix of maximum gross load weight against trucks per day. It is not a pounds figure.Metro Dock, Dock Leveler Performance Rating Chart, undated document (2025 filename)
GVW (gross vehicle weight)The combined weight of the material handling equipment and its load: the total maximum weight moving across the leveler.LODEM, Dock Levelers 101, June 2014
Complexity factorLODEM’s name for an application-dependent factor multiplied by GVW; no numeric coefficient in its primer.LODEM, Dock Levelers 101, June 2014
Dynamic total load multiplierPentalift’s term for an application multiplier, not a universal conversion between label and rolling load.Pentalift, Dock Leveler Capacity
Maximum intended loadOSHA's defined term: the total load, weight AND force, of all employees, equipment, vehicles, tools, materials and other loads the employer reasonably anticipates on a walking-working surface at any one time.29 CFR 1910.21(b)

Sources: the issuer documents linked in each row; definitions are source-specific paraphrases, not a universal conversion chart. Full provenance is in the terms CSV. Verified September 17, 2026.

Two of these deserve a warning.

CIR. Several manufacturers print it. McGuire's HP Series page spells it out as Comparative Industry Rating, with standard capacities of 25K, 30K, 35K and 40K CIR. Poweramp's HM Series spec sheet uses the same label at 30,000 through 50,000. You will see the acronym attributed to ANSI MH30.1, the American National Standard for dock leveling devices. We could not confirm that attribution. We have not read the full paid standard, so we say what we checked: manufacturers print CIR next to the capacity number. The catalog-only check does not establish its definition inside the standard.

Performance rating. This one catches people. A performance rating of "40" looks exactly like a 40,000 lb capacity. It is not. It is the output of a two-variable lookup — gross load against daily truck traffic — that we describe further down. If a quote hands you a bare number, ask for its units, rating basis and applicable document.

How to size a dock leveler

Add your heaviest configured forklift's own weight to the heaviest load it will carry. Then apply the leveler manufacturer's method for that application. For a multiplier-based method, use its specified factor and a suitable rating offered for that model and configuration.

Written out:

  1. Find the forklift's own weight. Not its lifting capacity — its weight. A 5,000 lb-class forklift is rated to lift 5,000 lb in its specified configuration; that label is not its own weight.
  2. Add the heaviest complete load it will carry. Include the pallet and packaging, plus any relevant person or component weight not already counted. That gives the weight input; it does not calculate impact force.
  3. Use the applicable selection method. A multiplier method needs the manufacturer's application-specific factor. A load-class or performance-rating method needs its own inputs instead.
  4. Check the exact model and rating basis. Where the applicable method calls for rounding, use a listed rating that meets the result. Do not round against another manufacturer's scale.

A worked example

A Toyota 8FGU25 gasoline configuration, published truck weight 7,840 lb, rated to lift 5,000 lb. For this illustration only, assume its full rated load and a 2.5 multiplier; no manufacturer has approved that factor for a particular bay here.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Worked sizing example: Toyota 8FGU25 at an illustrative 2.5 multiplier
StepFigure
Truck weight (published)7,840 lb
Assumed carried load, equal to the published rated load5,000 lb
Gross vehicle weight12,840 lb
Illustrative × 2.5 calculation32,100 lb
Next value on the illustrative comparison list35,000 lb

Source-reported truck weight and rated load: Toyota Core IC Pneumatic, ©2016, p.5. Calculated gross weight = 7,840 + 5,000 = 12,840 lb; method arithmetic = 12,840 × 2.5 = 32,100 lb. On our illustrative list, the next value is 35,000 lb. This is not a confirmed rating selection for an installed or proposed leveler. Verified September 17, 2026.

Now the uncomfortable part. Run the same truck through the other published multipliers and you get 30,000 lb, 35,000 lb, 40,000 lb or 60,000 lb. Same source weights. Four different arithmetic results, before anyone checks whether a method applies.

Here is the same comparison for all 23 source configurations. Use it to see how the arithmetic changes, not as a substitute for the weight of your own truck.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Illustrative sizing-list comparison at four factors, 23 Toyota configurations
Forklift modelPowerRated load (lb)Loaded axle total (lb)List value at 2.0× (lb)List value at 2.5× (lb)List value at 3.0× (lb)List value at 4.0× (lb)
8FGU15Gasoline3,0008,50025,00025,00030,00035,000
8FDU15Diesel3,0008,50025,00025,00030,00035,000
8FGU18Gasoline3,5009,42025,00025,00030,00040,000
8FDU18Diesel3,5009,56025,00025,00030,00040,000
8FGU20Gasoline4,00011,08025,00030,00035,00045,000
8FDU20Diesel4,00011,23025,00030,00035,00045,000
8FGU25Gasoline5,00012,84030,00035,00040,00060,000
8FDU25Diesel5,00012,99030,00035,00040,00060,000
8FGU30Gasoline6,00015,27035,00040,00050,00080,000
8FDU30Diesel6,00015,27035,00040,00050,00080,000
8FGU32Gasoline6,50016,00035,00040,00050,00080,000
8FDU32Diesel6,50016,15035,00045,00050,00080,000
8FBC15UElectric3,0009,77025,00025,00030,00040,000
8FBC18UElectric3,50010,54025,00030,00035,00045,000
8FBC20UElectric4,00013,14030,00035,00040,00060,000
8FBC20U-COMPElectric4,00013,14030,00035,00040,00060,000
8FBC25UElectric5,00014,82030,00040,00045,00060,000
8FBC25U-COMPElectric5,00014,79030,00040,00045,00060,000
8FBCH25UElectric5,00014,55030,00040,00045,00060,000
8FBC28UElectric5,50015,98035,00040,00050,00080,000
8FBC30UElectric6,00016,88035,00045,00060,00080,000
8FBC32UElectric6,50017,63040,00045,00060,00080,000
8FBCH32UElectric6,50017,74040,00045,00060,00080,000

All results are Uptime calculations from Toyota IC, ©2016, pp.4–6 and Toyota electric, ©2026, pp.5–8, using each published full-load axle sum. Multiply by the column factor, then take the first value at or above the result from this illustrative list: 25,000 / 30,000 / 35,000 / 40,000 / 45,000 / 50,000 / 60,000 / 80,000 lb. It is a sensitivity comparison, not one manufacturer's product ladder, a cross-brand rating conversion or an approved capacity. Electric source-label issues are explained below. Verified September 17, 2026.

Two patterns worth naming.

The illustrative list hides some differences at the light end and shows bigger jumps at the heavy end. The sampled 3,000 lb-class trucks land on the 25,000 lb floor at either 2.0 or 2.5. Across the sampled 6,500 lb-class trucks and four factors, the list values span 35,000 to 80,000 lb.

Across all 23 source configurations, changing 2.5 to 3.0 changes the next value on this illustrative list — every single time. Going from 2.0 to 2.5 changes it on 18 of 23. These counts depend on the list, not just the trucks.

Two checks before you choose

Do not round below the applicable requirement. Pentalift states that once an under-capacity leveler is installed there is little that can be done, and that correcting it is costly — usually replacement. That is a reason to resolve the application before ordering, not proof that every manufacturer uses the same rating ladder. Pentalift capacity guidance.

Size for the heaviest truck, not the usual one. Blue Giant's input list asks for the maximum forklift weight and maximum pallet weight in the facility, "no matter how infrequent." The leveler does not know that the heavy truck only crosses on Thursdays.

Use the weight worksheet and calculator

Open the dock leveler weight worksheet and calculator. Enter the configured truck weight, complete carried load and any weights not already included. Keep unknowns unknown. The optional multiplier field starts blank and needs the applicable method's source; the tool does not choose a factor or approve a leveler.

The worksheet runs locally in your browser, can be printed, and does not send your entries to Uptime. Its formulas and the worked example remain readable without JavaScript.

Getting the forklift weight right

Look up your forklift's weight on a spec sheet, and check what the number includes. On the Toyota electric sheet we checked, the Total Weight row plus rated load is 1,840 lb to 3,300 lb below the loaded axle sum. That gap needs explaining before it is used for a capacity decision.

A footnote can change the weight basis. Here, the footnotes need checking too.

On Toyota's Core Electric specification sheet, printed page 6 explicitly labels the weight row Total Weight Without Battery for 8FBC20U, 8FBC20U-COMP and 8FBC25U. The other model groups say Total Weight. Pages 6–8 tie the axle rows to a standard battery, but page 5 has a mismatched footnote marker. There are also small inconsistencies between some loaded and unloaded axle rows.

Subtracting the rows produces a weight-row gap, not a verified battery weight. We keep the source values below rather than repair the sheet by guessing.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Toyota electric-sheet weight-row gaps and comparison-list values, 11 configurations
Electric modelRated load (lb)Spec sheet weight row (lb)Loaded weight from axle rows (lb)Weight-row gap, calculated (lb)Illustrative list value at 2.5×: weight row + load (lb)Illustrative list value at 2.5×: axle sum (lb)
8FBC15U3,0004,9309,7701,84025,00025,000
8FBC18U3,5005,20010,5401,84025,00030,000
8FBC20U4,0006,49013,1402,65030,00035,000
8FBC20U-COMP4,0006,66013,1402,48030,00035,000
8FBC25U5,0007,15014,8202,67035,00040,000
8FBC25U-COMP5,0007,39014,7902,40035,00040,000
8FBCH25U5,0006,55014,5503,00030,00040,000
8FBC28U5,5007,50015,9802,98035,00040,000
8FBC30U6,0007,89016,8802,99035,00045,000
8FBC32U6,5008,13017,6303,00040,00045,000
8FBCH32U6,5007,94017,7403,30040,00045,000

Source-reported inputs: Toyota Core Electric, ©2026, pp.5–8. Loaded axle total = front + rear, loaded. Weight-row gap = loaded axle total − (Total Weight row + rated load). The gap is not a measured or verified battery mass. Both right-hand columns use the same illustrative 2.5 factor and comparison list shown above, not an equipment approval. Full source-label and reconciliation notes are in the source-observations CSV. Verified September 17, 2026.

On 10 of these 11 models, Total Weight plus rated load gives a smaller next value than the axle sum at 2.5× on our illustrative list. The one exception is the lightest truck, which hits the 25,000 lb floor either way. This demonstrates why the weight basis matters; it does not establish a battery weight or a class to buy.

Blue Giant's selection page explicitly asks for forklift weight including the battery. It also asks for attachment weight. Those details belong in the configured truck figure before a method is applied. Blue Giant load-class guidance.

A change of forklift can change the number

If you are changing forklifts, check the new configured weight even if the rated lifting capacity is identical.

Compare the two 5,000 lb-class trucks on the same tables. The gasoline 8FGU25 has a 12,840 lb loaded axle sum. The electric 8FBC25U has a 14,820 lb loaded axle sum. That is 1,980 lb more — a 15.4% increase — at the same rated lifting capacity.

At an illustrative 2.5 multiplier, those two inputs move from 35,000 lb to 40,000 lb on our comparison list. They are different model families and document editions, not a controlled test of electric against gasoline power. Worth checking before the fleet arrives.

What else belongs in the weight

Count each of these once, and only if it is not already in the published figure:

  • The battery, on electric trucks.
  • Attachments. Blue Giant says to add attachment weight to the forklift weight. LODEM names clamps, slip-sheet forks and carpet poles as things that affect capacity.
  • The heaviest complete palletized load, including packaging, not the average one.
  • The operator and any other relevant load, if not already included. OSHA’s maximum-intended-load definition includes people as well as equipment and materials.

If you do not know whether a component is already included, that is an unknown — not a zero. Ask the dealer for the configured truck's weight before you multiply, because the multiplier multiplies your error too.

Why the published rules disagree

Because the published methods use different rating bases and application conditions. Pentalift reports multipliers from 2.0 to 5.0 across manufacturers and applications; that is not a universally permitted range.

We collected 11 public methods from the manufacturers’ trade association, manufacturers and distributors, and put each one’s number next to its stated conditions and worked example. This is a selected comparison, not a census of every published method.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

11 published dock leveler sizing methods compared
PublisherType / marketMethodLight / normal useHeavier use or stated rangeSpeed conditionGrade conditionTheir own worked example
LODEM (MHI)Trade association; USGross vehicle weight x a complexity factornone publishednone publishednot statedlisted as a factorno worked example published
PentaliftManufacturer; Canada/USGross weight x dynamic total load multiplier2.5Not a separate heavy-duty limit; 2.0 to 5.0 is a reported range across manufacturers/applications5 mph baselinenot stated8,824 lb truck + 2,000 lb load = 10,824 lb -> 27,060 lb -> buy 35,000 lb
Blue GiantManufacturer; Canada/USLive Load class selected from an application input listnone publishednone publishedasks 4 mph or less, or over 4 mphnot statedno worked example published
ChalfantManufacturer; USGross vehicle weight x a multiplier2.0higher, not quantifiednot statednamed as a factor8,000 lb truck + 4,000 lb load = 12,000 lb -> 24,000 lb
BeauwayManufacturer; China/exportGross vehicle weight x a dynamic factor2.53.0 to 4.0not statednot statedNo complete numeric forklift-to-rating example in the inspected page
Loading Dock, Inc.Distributor; USGross vehicle weight x a multiplier2.53.0 to 4.0not statednot stated12,000 lb truck + 6,000 lb load = 18,000 lb -> 45,000 lb
Beaton IndustrialDistributor; USGross vehicle weight x a multiplier2.5not statedDoes not exceed 5 mphUnder 7%11,000 lb truck + 6,000 lb load = 17,000 lb; x 2.5 = 42,500 lb; next selected capacity 45,000 lb
Barron EquipmentDistributor; USGross vehicle weight x a multiplier2.0 light; 2.5 standard3.0 or highernot statednot stated10,000 lb truck + 4,000 lb load = 14,000 lb; x 2.5 = 35,000 lb; stated selection 35,000–40,000 lb
Kodiak EquipmentDistributor; USGross vehicle weight x a safety factor2.53.0 to 4.0not statednot statedno numeric example published
AB EquipmentDistributor; AustraliaGross vehicle weight x a multiplier2.53.0 to 4.0asks 4 mph or less, or over 4 mphnot stated8,000 lb truck + 4,000 lb load = 12,000 lb -> 30,000 lb
Metro Dock chartDistributor; CanadaMaximum gross load weight read against trucks per day on a published matrixno multiplier usedno multiplier usedLess than 5 mph; source’s inconsistent metric parenthesis omittedless than 7% up or downchart output is a performance rating of 30, 35, 40, 50, 60, 80 or 100

Sources: each publisher’s own page or document, linked in the first column. Eight of the eleven publish numeric multipliers; LODEM and the Blue Giant selection page describe methods without a numeric multiplier; Metro Dock supplies a lookup chart. These are records of published advice, not eleven independent tests. Source editions and verification dates are in the sizing-rules CSV; all were checked September 17, 2026.

Two rows in that table use identical example weights — an 8,000 lb truck carrying 4,000 lb, 12,000 lb gross. Chalfant’s light-to-normal-use example gives 24,000 lb. AB Equipment’s 2.5 example gives 30,000 lb. The second result is 25% above the first, but the two methods are not interchangeable approvals for one installation.

Applying 2.0 and 5.0 to that same hypothetical 12,000 lb gross load gives 24,000 lb and 60,000 lb. That is a sensitivity calculation using the range Pentalift reports, not permission to choose anywhere within it.

The manufacturers say so themselves

We are not the ones calling this messy. Pentalift's own capacity page says it plainly:

Since there is no recognized industry standard, manufacturers rate their capacities differently.

That is Pentalift’s description of rating practice, not our claim to have audited every standard or independently tested every manufacturer.

Blue Giant, independently, says manufacturers use different terminology for capacity and that this adds to the confusion.

And LODEM’s primer publishes the method with no number in it. Its guidance names eight inputs that set the complexity factor: the heaviest forklift and load, the number of crossings, the speed, the expected life of the leveler, the loading slope above or below dock level, three- versus four-wheel trucks, front-end attachments, the lip length, "as well as other considerations." Then it tells you to ask the manufacturer's authorized sales representative.

That is not a dodge. The answer depends on the application.

A chart uses load and traffic instead of one multiplier

The Metro Dock document presents a lookup instead of a single multiplication.

Metro Dock’s distributor chart, in a file with 2025 in its name, presents a grid; the document itself does not establish a publication date. Down one side: maximum gross load weight, in ten bands from 5,000 lb to 40,000 lb. Across the top: three traffic bands — 0–8, 9–16 and 17–24 trucks per day. Read across and down, and the cell gives you a performance rating of 30, 35, 40, 50, 60, 80 or 100.

Mechanical and hydraulic units carry ratings of 30, 35, 40 and 50. Heavy-duty hydraulic units carry 60, 80 and 100.

The chart states its own assumptions: lift truck speed under 5 mph, leveler grade under 7% up or down, no more than 24 trucks per door per 24-hour period, and a five-day operating week.

Gross load and daily truck traffic are both inputs to this chart. Its speed and grade assumptions describe that chart’s scope, not a safe operating speed or permission to use equipment outside its own instructions.

We checked the axes, rating values, legend and assumptions in the PDF’s extracted text. We have not reproduced the individual grid cells — the values did not extract reliably. For a specific cell, use the original chart with the supplier and confirm that it applies to the quoted equipment.

Source: Metro Dock, Dock Leveler Performance Rating Chart, undated document (2025 filename). Verified September 17, 2026.

How much traffic the rules assume

The time period changes the meaning of the count. In the guidance below, 8 can mean trailers per shift or full truckloads per day. Those are not the same operating conditions.

This matters more than it sounds. "Eight trucks" means one thing per shift and something very different per day.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Published traffic and pallet-count assumptions by source
SourceFigureWhat is countedPer what
LODEM, Dock Levelers 1018trailersper shift
LODEM, Dock Levelers 10120loads (pallets)per transport vehicle
Blue Giant, Leveler Selection8full truck loadsper day
Blue Giant, Leveler Selectionover 8trailersper shift
Beaton Industrial8trucksper door per day
Beaton Industrial20rollover cyclesper vehicle
Metro Dock performance rating chart24trucksper door per 24-hour period
Metro Dock performance rating chart5daysper week

Sources: the named documents linked in each row. Counts describe each document’s assumptions, not measured traffic at U.S. warehouses. Do not interchange pallets, full truckloads, crossings and cycles. Full document editions are in the traffic-denominators CSV. Verified September 17, 2026.

Two things fall out of that table.

Multiplying the periods does not make the methods equivalent. Eight trailers per shift across three assumed shifts gives 24 trailers per day. That happens to match the Metro chart’s numerical cap, but it does not show an industry-agreed ceiling or equivalent duty assumptions.

The pallet count needs its own assumption. LODEM describes 20 pallet loads per transport vehicle and 8 trailers per shift in a typical capacity calculation. Multiplying gives 160 pallet loads per assumed shift. Calling that 160 loaded crossings at one door would also require one pallet per crossing and all eight trailers at that door. This is our scenario arithmetic, not observed traffic or a LODEM-published crossing count.

If your door’s traffic or workweek falls outside a named method’s assumptions, take that difference back to the manufacturer. Do not treat Pentalift’s reported 5.0 upper example as a universal ceiling, or assume that raising one factor makes every out-of-scope application acceptable.

What capacity ratings are published

The examples below include CIR, static/service capacity, uniform capacity, load usage and performance designations. They are not one scale. Keep the named series and document edition attached; a historical manual is not proof that a configuration is sold today.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Published dock leveler capacity ratings by manufacturer and series, 13 entries
Manufacturer or publisherSeries / documentTypePublished values (lb unless noted)Term usedEdition / snapshot
McGuire (Systems, LLC)HP SeriesPit, hydraulic, standard duty25,000; 30,000; 35,000; 40,000CIRUndated; checked 2026-09-17
Poweramp (Systems, LLC)HM SeriesPit, mechanical30,000; 35,000; 40,000; 45,000; 50,000CIR6/22
SercoVersa-Dock XL (historical 08/00 manual)Pit, hydraulic45,000; 50,000Capacity08/00, Rev E
Blue GiantVertical Storing, 2026 brochureVertical storingLoad usage up to 33,000 lb; Heavy / Super / Extreme load classesLoad Usage; Load ClassCopyright 2026; code DL-VSDL-021326
BeaconBHD5 SeriesPit, hydraulic, heavy capacity50,000; 60,000; 80,000Static / service capacityUndated; checked 2026-09-17
PentaliftHD High CapacityPit, hydraulic80,000; 100,000Capacity; Pentalift describes its quoted ratings as staticUndated; checked 2026-09-17
Metro Dock chartMechanical and hydraulicPitperformance ratings 30; 35; 40; 50Performance ratingUndated document; 2025 in filename and URL path
Metro Dock chartHydraulic, heavy dutyPitperformance ratings 60; 80; 100Performance ratingUndated document; 2025 in filename and URL path
Bluff ManufacturingEP / EZ-PullEdge-of-dock20,000; 25,000; 30,000CapacityUndated; checked 2026-09-17
CopperloyEdge-of-dockEdge-of-dock20,000; 30,000CapacityUndated; checked 2026-09-17
VestilEdge-O-Dock FM seriesEdge-of-dock, mechanical6,000; 20,000; 25,000; 30,000, by modelUniform capacityCatalog 112; publication date not stated
VestilPE-2572Edge-of-dock, powered25,000Uniform capacityCatalog 112; publication date not stated
BeauwayHydraulic dock levelersPit, hydraulic35,000; 45,000; 60,000; 80,000; 100,000; 150,000CapacityWeb document checked 2026-09-17

Sources: issuer specifications, manuals and product pages, or the Metro Dock chart, linked in each row. Manufacturer-stated values are not independent testing, an inventory check or allowable rolling loads for your bay. No conversion between rating bases is implied. Verified September 17, 2026.

On the Poweramp HM specification, moving up a CIR class changes the steel, not just the sticker.

Poweramp's HM Series spec sheet spells out where the metal changes. A 30,000 lb CIR unit gets roll-formed C-channels running the length of the platform. Step up to 35,000, 40,000, 45,000 or 50,000 lb CIR and those become structural C-channels, I-beams, or both. Steel header gussets are standard from 35,000 lb CIR upward on that sheet. Poweramp HM specification, 6/22, p.2.

Edge-of-dock levelers are a different ladder

An edge-of-dock leveler mounts at the dock face instead of using the usual recessed pit arrangement. Mounting details are model-specific; Bluff’s EP installation requires welding. The selected edge-of-dock examples above include ratings from 6,000 to 30,000 lb, but those figures do not establish a universal upper limit.

LODEM describes the recommended normal working range of an edge-of-dock unit as typically plus or minus 3 inches. Some manufacturers publish ±5 inches, and Bluff publishes two ranges for the same unit: 5 inches above and below dock level for propane and gas trucks, 3 inches for pallet jacks and electric trucks.

If your trailers vary more than that, a larger capacity label does not solve the operating-range mismatch. Sources: LODEM, p.9; Bluff EP manual, Rev.11-16, pp.3–4; Copperloy edge-of-dock page. If you are not sure which kind of unit you have, our dock leveler troubleshooting reference walks through the types and symptoms.

Signs a leveler may be undersized

Deck dishing or broken welds can be consistent with an inadequate capacity selection, but visible damage alone does not prove the cause. Treat it as a condition to inspect, not a diagnosis.

Pentalift describes the progression directly: improper and too-low capacity selection leads to dishing of the deck plate and on to structural failure. It also notes what a three-wheel truck or very narrow tires do — they put the same weight on a smaller contact area, which can cause dishing or broken deck beam welds.

Conditions to report include:

  • A deck that has dished or bowed along the wheel paths.
  • Cracked welds at the deck beams or the front header.
  • A lip that no longer sits flat on the trailer bed.
  • Visible sag across the middle of the deck.

If you see deformation or cracking, take the bay out of service and have the leveler inspected before another forklift crosses it. This is not a thing to watch and see. 29 CFR 1910.22(d)(2)–(3) requires hazardous surface conditions to be corrected before reuse, or guarded against use until corrected, and requires a qualified person for work involving structural integrity. A nominal capacity rating does not clear an unresolved hazard.

There is no repair to attempt here yourself. Do not adjust springs, cables or hydraulics, or enter beneath the deck to investigate. A damaged structure needs an assessment, not an improvised adjustment. Bluff EP owner’s manual provides equipment-specific safety instructions. For the separate service question, see the loading-dock repair guide.

The source set used here does not establish a failure rate, service-life estimate or replacement cost for undersized levelers, so we do not print one.

Finding the rating on the leveler you already have

Start with the capacity tag or nameplate and the equipment record. Copy the rating’s exact wording, units, manufacturer, model and serial number where shown; use the matching manual or submittal to interpret them.

The label’s location and fields vary by model. Look from a safe position or use existing records rather than raising the deck to search for it.

Photograph the whole plate rather than copying one number. You want the exact wording, because CIR, static capacity and load class are not automatically the same basis.

If the plate is gone or unreadable, gather whatever model and serial information is available in service records, purchase records or the original submittal. Ask the manufacturer to identify the applicable rating and configuration. A deck size or building year alone is not a capacity determination.

Do not enter the pit and do not reach under a raised deck to look for a plate. If it is not readable from a standing position outside the pit, that is a question for a technician with the right supports, not for someone with a phone flashlight.

What the rules actually require

The cited federal general-industry rules require support for maximum intended load and prohibit exceeding the rated capacity. They do not supply a universal 2.5 multiplier.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Applicable OSHA, Washington and ANSI dock leveler rules and standards
CitationIssuer and scopeTypeWhat it saysBoundary
29 CFR 1910.21(b)Federal OSHA, general industryDefinitionA dockboard is a portable or fixed device spanning a gap or compensating for an elevation difference between a loading platform and a transport vehicle; dockboards include dock levelers. Maximum intended load is the total load, weight and force, reasonably anticipated at any one time.It sets no number and names no rating method.
29 CFR 1910.26(a)Federal OSHA, general industryEnforceable ruleDockboards must be capable of supporting the maximum intended load in accordance with 1910.22(b).This clause supplies no universal numerical multiplier or pound rating.
29 CFR 1910.22(b)Federal OSHA, general industryEnforceable ruleEach walking-working surface must support the maximum intended load for that surface.Does not prescribe a universal 2.5 multiplier.
29 CFR 1910.178(n)(11)Federal OSHA, general industryEnforceable ruleDockboards must be properly secured before they are driven over, must be driven over carefully and slowly, and their rated capacity must never be exceeded.It makes the rating legally operative without saying how the rating is set.
29 CFR 1926.451(a)(1)Federal OSHA, constructionEnforceable ruleGeneral scaffold rule: own weight plus at least 4 times maximum intended load, subject to the specific exceptions listed in 1926.451(a)(1).This scaffold requirement does not establish a dock-leveler selection multiplier.
WAC 296-24-75006(1) and (4)Washington State PlanEnforceable rulePortable and powered dockboards must be strong enough to carry the load imposed on them, and powered dockboards must be designed and constructed per Commercial Standard CS202-56 (1961) or newer standards as effective as the code, including ANSI MH30.1-2007 and ANSI MH30.2-2005.The history lists an amendment effective October 1, 2020, not the original introduction of the requirement. Listed editions are not automatically replaced in law by a newer catalog edition.
ANSI MH30.1-2022MHI (developed through LODEM)Voluntary standardPerformance and Testing Requirements for Dock Leveling Devices. Its stated purpose includes providing guidelines for design and testing and a uniform means of comparison for dock leveling devices. Revises ANSI MH30.1-2015, which revised ANSI MH30.1-2007.Not automatically the governing requirement at every site. A standard may be incorporated into law or a specification; verify the applicable edition. Full paid text not read.
ANSI MH30.2-2022MHI (developed through LODEM)Voluntary standardPerformance and Testing of Portable Dock Leveling Devices. Portable devices are not permanently affixed to the dock or the vehicle and are commonly called dock boards or dock plates.Separate portable-device scope; official catalog metadata only, not full paid text.
29 CFR 1910.22(d)(1)–(3)Federal OSHA, general industryEnforceable ruleWalking-working surfaces must be inspected regularly and as necessary. Hazardous conditions must be corrected before reuse, or guarded against use until corrected. Structural-integrity work requires a qualified person to perform or supervise it.Visible damage is not by itself a diagnosis of undersizing; a nominal rating does not clear an unresolved hazard.
29 CFR 1910.178(o)(2)Federal OSHA, general industryEnforceable ruleOnly loads within the truck’s rated capacity may be handled.A higher-rated dock leveler does not increase the forklift’s lifting capacity.

Sources: official rule text and ANSI catalog records linked in each row. This is a bounded U.S. general-industry reference with a construction contrast and one state example, not a complete compliance checklist. Standard clauses behind a paid full text were not read or reproduced. Verified September 17, 2026.

Three observations a reader can use.

OSHA calls your leveler a dockboard. The definition at 1910.21(b) expressly includes dock levelers. Read each provision’s scope, though: 1910.26(c) and (e) address portable dockboards specifically. Their portable-only requirements do not automatically apply to a fixed pit leveler.

The word "force" is doing real work. Maximum intended load includes anticipated weight and force from people, equipment, vehicles, tools, materials and other loads. Comparing forklift weight alone with an unexplained tag does not answer that requirement. The definition does not itself establish a sizing multiplier. 29 CFR 1910.21(b).

OSHA does set numeric factors elsewhere — just not in these dockboard capacity provisions. The general scaffold rule calls for the scaffold’s own weight plus four times maximum intended load, subject to listed exceptions. That is a scaffold requirement, not a dock-leveler selection factor. 29 CFR 1926.451(a)(1).

Washington names design standards

Washington’s WAC 296-24-75006(4) requires powered dockboards to be designed and constructed to Commercial Standard CS202-56 (1961) or newer standards as effective as the code, and names ANSI MH30.1-2007 and ANSI MH30.2-2005 among the acceptable ones. The rule history lists an amendment effective October 1, 2020; that is not the original start date of every requirement in the section.

The named MH30.1-2007 edition was revised by MH30.1-2015, which was revised by MH30.1-2022. That catalog history does not automatically replace an edition named in a rule. If you are specifying equipment in Washington, resolve the applicable requirement with your safety office or the responsible authority. ANSI MH30.1-2015 revision record; ANSI MH30.1-2022 catalog.

Where ANSI MH30.1 fits

ANSI MH30.1 covers performance and testing requirements for dock leveling devices. The official catalog lists the 2022 edition. A separate standard, ANSI MH30.2-2022, covers portable dock leveling devices — equipment not permanently affixed to a dock or vehicle. A voluntary standard can become relevant through a rule or contract; the newest catalog edition is not automatically the edition governing every job. MH30.1-2022 catalog; MH30.2-2022 catalog.

We checked the catalog metadata, not the full paid standards, and quote no unseen clause. If your specification calls out MH30.1, obtain the applicable edition rather than relying on a summary — including this one.

How we built this

We compiled this reference from issuer-authored specifications, regulatory text and publisher guidance, and checked the supporting passages on September 17, 2026. Distributor pages document those distributors’ own advice; they are not independent engineering tests.

Forklift data. We transcribed the load capacity, total weight and loaded weight-distribution rows for all twelve models on Toyota Material Handling U.S.A.'s Core IC Pneumatic specification sheet (document 007228FGU1532SS, ©2016) and all eleven models on Toyota Material Handling's Core Electric specification sheet (©2026).

How the derived figures were computed. Loaded axle total is the sum of the published full-load front and rear axle rows. On the IC sheet it equals Total Weight plus rated load for all twelve models. On the electric sheet we preserve the published rows, their varying labels and the identified inconsistencies; the difference is a weight-row gap, not verified battery mass. Front axle share is 100 × front ÷ loaded axle total. The per-front-tire estimate is front ÷ 2, assuming equal sharing in the tabulated two-front-tire configuration. Its ratio to a four-wheel equal-share estimate is (front ÷ 2) ÷ (loaded axle total ÷ 4). Means give each model row equal weight. No speed, grade, tire-contact stress or impact-force model is included.

Sizing rules. We recorded 11 selected public methods with their stated factors, conditions and examples. The 92 lookup rows are 23 forklift configurations × four illustrative factors: 2.0, 2.5, 3.0 and 4.0. Each scenario multiplies the full-load axle sum by its factor and selects the first value at or above it from our declared list: 25,000, 30,000, 35,000, 40,000, 45,000, 50,000, 60,000 and 80,000 lb. That list is an editorial comparison device, not one manufacturer’s approved ratings. A result above the list is unknown, not 80,000 lb or zero.

Standards and regulations. We checked the relevant clauses of 29 CFR 1910.21, 1910.22, 1910.26 and 1910.178 in official OSHA text, the scaffold contrast in 1926.451(a)(1), and WAC 296-24-75006 in Washington’s official rule. For the ANSI standards we checked official catalog titles, scopes and revision metadata only. No paid clause text is reproduced.

What the marks mean. ★ Source-reported figures were checked in the cited source. ● Calculated figures were computed from cited figures using the formulas above. The script that produces every calculated number ships with the download, so anyone can re-run the arithmetic.

Who we are. Uptime Dock & Door Research is the research and reference section of uptimedockanddoor.com. Uptime Dock & Door is an independent commercial service-referral publisher, not a manufacturer, laboratory, standards body or repair contractor. See our editorial policy; contact us about an error. A verification date changes when the affected material is actually rechecked.

Limits of this analysis

  • Two manufacturer spec sheets, one brand. The axle-load finding covers Toyota counterbalance forklifts from 3,000 lb to 6,500 lb rated capacity. We have not established a corresponding range for other brands or a fleet-weighted average.
  • Counterbalance trucks only. We did not sample reach trucks, order pickers, pallet jacks or stand-up trucks; these figures do not establish their axle or wheel loads.
  • The internal-combustion sheet is a ©2016 edition. Current models may differ. We name the edition every time its data appears.
  • The weight-row gaps are not battery measurements. The electric sheet labels one group’s Total Weight as excluding the battery, uses a conflicting footnote marker on another page, and contains loaded-versus-unloaded arithmetic differences. The source-observations download records them. Use the documented weight of the actual configured truck for a real review.
  • Published methods are not independent test results. This comparison records what each publisher says; it does not establish that the methods are equivalent or independently validate their factors.
  • AB Equipment's condition questions closely match Blue Giant's published input list, so those two rows in the sizing table are not fully independent.
  • We could not verify that ANSI MH30.1 defines "CIR." One manufacturer attributes the acronym to the standard. We have not read the standard, so we report only that manufacturers print the term.
  • We did not reproduce the performance rating chart's grid cells, because the values did not extract reliably from the PDF.
  • No installation-share statistic is included. The reviewed source set did not establish a traceable survey population, period and method for the installation-share claim encountered. A repeated figure without those details is not a market census.
  • Named load classes need their own key. Blue Giant’s current vertical-storing brochure uses named load classes, while the Metro chart uses numbers. Neither presentation is a universal code. Ask which document and application the designation belongs to.
  • The rounding list is illustrative. A given manufacturer may not offer those values, and similar-looking values can have different rating bases. None of the lookup cells is an equipment approval.
  • None of this replaces the manufacturer's own sizing for your building — which is exactly what the industry's own primer tells you to get.

Sources

Sources were checked September 17, 2026. The edition shown belongs to the document, not the verification date. Page references are printed document pages unless stated otherwise.

How to cite this page

Uptime Dock & Door Research. Dock Leveler Capacity: What the Rating Means, and How to Size One for Your Forklift. Uptime Dock & Door Dock Leveler Capacity Ledger, version 1.1.0. Sources verified September 17, 2026. uptimedockanddoor.com/research/dock-leveler-capacity/

If you use a figure from this page, please carry its qualifier with it. The axle-load percentages describe Toyota counterbalance forklifts from 3,000 to 6,500 lb rated capacity on two named spec sheet editions, not forklifts in general. The multipliers are what individual companies publish, not an industry standard. And any figure marked ● is our calculation from cited inputs, with the formula in the methodology.

Download the data

The reference data and calculation script are available below without a signup. Third-party source documents remain their issuers’ copyrighted material; these downloads do not grant a license to reproduce those documents.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Dock leveler capacity: downloadable data files
FileRowsWhat it holds
dock-leveler-capacity-forklift-axle-load.csv23Source pound rows for 23 Toyota configurations; calculated totals, axle shares, equal-share tire estimates and weight-row gaps
dock-leveler-capacity-sizing-lookup.csv9223 configurations × 4 illustrative factors; method arithmetic and next value on the stated comparison list
dock-leveler-capacity-sizing-rules.csv11Selected publisher methods, conditions, actual examples and primary document links
dock-leveler-capacity-traffic-denominators.csv8Source-specific counts with their periods and event definitions
dock-leveler-capacity-classes.csv13Published rating examples with model, basis, document edition and source
dock-leveler-capacity-terms.csv14Source-specific terminology and definitions
dock-leveler-capacity-rules-and-standards.csv10Relevant federal clauses, Washington rule and ANSI catalog scopes
dock-leveler-capacity-sources.csv33Actual source URLs, issuers, editions, locators, verification dates and access scope
dock-leveler-capacity-source-observations.csv6Electric-specification label, footnote and reconciliation issues
dock-leveler-capacity-data-dictionary.csv123File-by-file field definitions, units, evidence categories and missing-value rules
dock-leveler-capacity-dataset.jsonComplete records matching every CSV, plus formulas, sample scope and calculated summaries
build-dock-leveler-capacity-data.pyReproducible source inputs and data-generation script
dock-leveler-capacity-calculator.htmlLocal weight worksheet and optional method calculator; print without submitting entries

Source: the accompanying Dock Leveler Capacity Ledger files, version 1.1.0. Row counts exclude header rows.

Reading the files. Each evidence CSV carries row-level source URLs, document locations and verification dates. The data dictionary describes each column; descriptive metadata and editorial decisions are not source measurements. Fields ending in _calculated are our calculations. Missing numeric values are blank in CSV and null in JSON; they are never silently zero. Text such as not stated means the source does not provide that detail. The JSON contains the complete CSV records, not only a summary.

Common questions

How much weight can a dock leveler hold? Check the exact model and rating basis. The examples above include CIR, static/service and uniform-capacity figures, plus load-usage and performance classifications. A tag is not automatically an allowable rolling load, and this page does not convert it into a safe payload. LODEM’s capacity definition makes selection application-dependent.

Does the capacity include the weight of the forklift? The weight input includes the truck and its load, not just the pallet. Battery, attachments, operator and other relevant weights must be counted once. In our five selected 5,000 lb-class Toyota configurations, the Total Weight rows range from 6,550 to 7,990 lb, but those rows do not all use the same battery basis. Toyota IC; Toyota electric; maximum intended load.

Is a 30,000 lb dock leveler enough? The number alone cannot settle it. Identify what “30,000” means on that model, then supply the configured truck weight, complete load, wheel configuration and duty to the applicable selection method. Dividing the tag by 2.5 does not establish an allowable payload. Our sizing table compares scenarios; it does not approve your bay.

What is the most common dock leveler capacity? This source set does not establish the most common installed or sold capacity. A list of offerings is not a sales census. The table above shows what the selected documents state, with no market-share claim.

Can you increase a dock leveler's capacity later? Do not assume it can be increased, and do not attempt to uprate it yourself. Poweramp’s HM sheet shows structural changes between CIR classes; Pentalift says an under-capacity installation is difficult to correct and usually needs replacement. The manufacturer must assess any proposed change for the exact unit. Poweramp HM, p.2; Pentalift guidance.

Do pallet jacks and electric forklifts change the calculation? They can change the inputs and operating-range requirements. Our 15.4% comparison applies only to two named Toyota configurations, not every electric-versus-gasoline pair. Pallet jacks were not in the axle sample. Blue Giant asks what handling equipment is used, and Bluff’s cited EP manual gives a narrower operating range for pallet jacks and electric trucks than for gas/propane trucks. Blue Giant selection questions; Bluff EP manual, Rev.11-16.

What does CIR mean on my quote? Comparative Industry Rating, as spelled out in McGuire’s HP documentation. Ask for the applicable model document and rating basis. Poweramp’s HM sheet lists CIR and dynamic capacity separately; a number from one scale is not automatically a value on the other. Poweramp HM specification.


Dock leveler weight worksheet and calculator (interactive tool)

Tool not loading, or prefer it full-page? Open the standalone dock leveler weight worksheet and calculator directly.

The research library is maintained separately from Uptime's service-request pages. See the About Uptime Dock & Door, editorial policy and contact information.