Commercial Garage Door Cost: Door Prices vs. Installed Cost
Commercial garage door cost depends on what the price includes. One US seller lists rolling-sheet doors at $873–$4,676 before installation; one Hudson Valley, New York dealer lists installed non-insulated sectional examples at $2,000–$9,600 per opening. These are published examples, not a national average or your project quote. Base-price sources · upper-price model · Installed-estimate source.
That is the whole problem with pricing a commercial door. A door-only price and an installed quote measure different things. Comparing them without checking the scope produces a gap you cannot explain.
We compiled 148 published rolling-sheet door prices, eight sectional starting prices, nine public-bid or installed-estimate records, and a source-linked cost-driver checklist. Here is what the evidence actually shows.
Last verified: September 2026. Prices are in US dollars. Seller price-effective dates are unstated; a retrieved listing may be cached. We did not run a checkout or reconfirm a price with a seller.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| What are you comparing? | Published example | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Rolling-sheet door at a stated size | $1,652 for Model 2000 at the 12 × 12 ft price band | Base door-and-hardware price, before installation |
| Sectional model with no stated opening size | Amarr 2402 starts at $1,227.82 | Not a priced 12 × 12 ft configuration |
| One regional installed estimate | $3,300–$6,600 for a 10 × 10 ft, 22-gauge non-insulated sectional with operator | One Hudson Valley dealer's guidance, not a national average |
Sources: Roll Up Doors Direct Model 2000, Doors On-Line Amarr listings and Bill Reynolds Jr. Garage Doors installed estimates, checked 17 September 2026. USD; source price-effective dates unstated. The examples are not interchangeable.
See prices by size · Compare quote scope · Download the data
Key figures
Each line says what it covers and where it comes from. ★ Source-reported means we read it in the cited source. ● Calculated means we computed it from cited inputs and show the formula.
- ★ Source-reported: $873 to $4,676 — 148 published base-price cells for four Janus rolling-sheet models at one US seller, Roll Up Doors Direct, checked 17 September 2026. The selected bands reach 8–20 ft in width and 8–18 ft in height; not every combination is listed. Price-effective dates are unstated. Four source grids.
- ● Calculated: $2,440.50 — the median of those 148 Roll Up Doors Direct price cells, checked 17 September 2026. It is a median of selected listings, not a national market price. Inputs and method.
- ● Calculated: $10.44 to $36.53 per square foot — 148 Roll Up Doors Direct base-price cells, checked 17 September 2026, divided by each width-band upper bound × height-band upper bound. No installation or market average is implied. Source grid and calculation.
- ● Calculated: area × 5.06, price × 3.04 — the 18 × 18 ft Model 2500 band is 5.06 times the area of its 8 × 8 ft band and costs 3.04 times as much. Base cost per square foot falls 39.9%; one seller's grid checked 17 September 2026. Source.
- ● Calculated: +20.6% to +62.0% — Model 3100's base-price difference over Model 2500 at 41 matched size bands, one US seller, checked 17 September 2026. This is a whole-model comparison, not an isolated wind-certification premium. 2500 · 3100.
- ● Calculated: +61.3% to +110.7% — Model 3400's base-price difference over Model 2500 at 24 matched size bands, one US seller, checked 17 September 2026. It does not isolate the cost of hurricane-zone approval. 2500 · 3400.
- ★ Source-reported: $1,227.82 to $2,240.72 — starting prices for eight Amarr commercial sectional models at Doors On-Line, checked 17 September 2026. Opening sizes and price-effective dates are unstated. Source.
- ● Calculated: +22.1%, or $271.50 — the unsized starting-price gap between Amarr 2402 and 2412 at Doors On-Line, checked 17 September 2026. This does not establish an insulation-only surcharge. Source.
- ★ Source-reported: $2,000 to $9,600 per opening — one Hudson Valley, New York dealer's installed estimates for three non-insulated sectional configurations, 8 × 8 ft through 14 × 14 ft, checked 17 September 2026. Price-effective date unstated. Source.
- ● Calculated from reported bids: $12,126 and $48,300 per stated door — Wausau's $24,252 two-door bid result, opened 24 June 2025, and Minneapolis's accepted $193,200 four-door MCC bid, approved 9 April 2026. These divide project bids by door counts; they are not paid invoices or door-only prices. Wausau · Minneapolis.
- ● Calculated: 5.9% — the spread between the lowest and highest of three submitted lump-sum bids for Minneapolis's Haaf Ramp Vehicle Door Installation Project, opened 5 August 2026: ($552,018 − $521,300) ÷ $521,300 × 100. No door count is established by that bid tabulation. Agency bid tabulation.
- ★ Source-reported: 50% of full customs value — the default additional Section 232 duty established from 6 April 2026 for the listed imported steel/aluminium door tariff lines. Origin and metal-content exceptions apply; the US-metal qualification threshold changed on 8 June 2026. This is not a 50% addition to an installed quote. April rule · June amendment.
- ● Calculated from BLS values: +45.7% — US steel mill products Producer Price Index, January 2025 to August 2026, not seasonally adjusted; August is preliminary. It is not a finished-door index. BLS source.
- ● Calculated from BLS values: +13.2% — US fabricated structural metal products Producer Price Index over the same January 2025–August 2026 period, not seasonally adjusted; August is preliminary. This broader series is not a commercial-door price measure either. BLS source.
The steel index runs through August 2026, and BLS marks May through August 2026 as preliminary.
Uptime Dock & Door Research is the research and reference section of uptimedockanddoor.com.
On this page
- What a commercial garage door costs, by size
- What installed actually costs
- Five things to check in the price
- How tariffs and metal prices have changed
- How to read and compare two quotes
- Repair or replace?
- What this page cannot tell you
- Methodology
- Download the data
- Sources
- How to cite this page
- Common cost questions
What a commercial garage door costs, by size
Find your opening below. These are published base door-and-hardware prices, not installed totals. Freight, unloading, removal, electrical work, tax and the operator must be resolved separately.
An operator is the powered mechanism that moves the door. A counterbalance uses springs to offset its weight. These are different parts of the system. Operator application · Spring-system guidance.
The prices below cover two different mechanisms:
- A rolling sheet door (often called a roll-up) has a steel sheet curtain that coils above the opening. It is different from a rolling service door made of interlocking slats. Rolling-sheet standard · Rolling-service standard.
- A sectional door is made of horizontal panels hinged together that travel on tracks. The track arrangement depends on the opening and available space. Amarr commercial-door guidance.
Rolling-sheet door prices by size
HVHZ means high-velocity hurricane zone. Model labels below describe the seller's product categories, not approval of your building or installation. All prices are USD.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Opening (W × H) | Model 2000 | Model 2500 | Model 3100 (wind-rated) | Model 3400 (HVHZ model) | $/sq ft, Model 2500 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 × 8 ft | $873 | $1,112 | $1,798 | $2,338 | $17.38 |
| 8 × 10 ft | $987 | $1,293 | $2,043 | $2,656 | $16.16 |
| 10 × 10 ft | $1,187 | $1,479 | $2,265 | $2,944 | $14.79 |
| 10 × 12 ft | $1,509 | $1,855 | $2,553 | $3,319 | $15.46 |
| 12 × 12 ft | $1,652 | $1,989 | $2,731 | $3,550 | $13.81 |
| 12 × 14 ft | $1,875 | $2,271 | $3,064 | $3,983 | $13.52 |
| 14 × 14 ft | no listed price | $2,425 | $3,375 | no listed price | $12.37 |
| 16 × 16 ft | no listed price | $2,910 | $4,019 | no listed price | $11.37 |
| 18 × 18 ft | no listed price | $3,382 | no listed price | no listed price | $10.44 |
Source: Model 2000, Model 2500, Model 3100, Model 3400, Roll Up Doors Direct, checked 17 September 2026. USD per base door-and-hardware listing. Sizes are published in bands; the table uses the upper bound of each band. "No listed price" means no price in the selected grid, not unavailable or free. Source price-effective dates are unstated. Cost per square foot is our calculation: price ÷ (width × height). The full 148-cell grid is in the download. Price-band inclusion does not establish an approved installation; see the seller/manufacturer specification differences.
The four models are not interchangeable. Model 2000 and Model 2500 both have seller-stated 26-gauge curtains, and the seller states plainly that neither is a wind-load door; the 2500 steps up to 12-gauge guides where the 2000 uses 16-gauge. The seller markets Model 3100 as wind-load certified and Model 3400 for the Florida high-velocity hurricane zone. A price cell does not establish a rated installation. 2000 · 2500 · 3100 · 3400.
Stepping from the 2000 to the 2500 at the same opening costs 9.8% to 31.0% more across the 24 size bands both models share — $337, or 20.4%, at a 12 × 12 ft opening. That is a whole-model step, not the price of one feature. Our calculation is (comparison price − base price) ÷ base price × 100. 2000 inputs · 2500 inputs.
The size curve in one model line
In this Model 2500 square-size series, a bigger door costs more, but not proportionally more.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Opening | Area | Price (Model 2500) | $/sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 × 8 ft | 64 sq ft | $1,112 | $17.38 |
| 10 × 10 ft | 100 sq ft | $1,479 | $14.79 |
| 12 × 12 ft | 144 sq ft | $1,989 | $13.81 |
| 14 × 14 ft | 196 sq ft | $2,425 | $12.37 |
| 16 × 16 ft | 256 sq ft | $2,910 | $11.37 |
| 18 × 18 ft | 324 sq ft | $3,382 | $10.44 |
Source: Roll Up Doors Direct Model 2500 price grid, checked 17 September 2026. USD per base door-and-hardware listing; source price-effective date unstated. Square sizes are price-band upper bounds. Cost per square foot is our calculation.
Go from 8 × 8 to 18 × 18 and you buy 5.06 times the opening area for 3.04 times the money. Cost per square foot drops 39.9%.
One practical consequence: a single dollars-per-square-foot rate cannot reproduce all six base prices in this table. That does not tell you whether a contractor's installed-price method is reasonable; installation and site work are different costs.
This curve is specific to this model line and this seller. Do not carry the exact numbers to a sectional door, a high-speed door, or an installed project.
Commercial sectional door starting prices
These sectional listings publish starting prices with no opening size attached. That is a real limitation: the ladder between models shows listed prices for different constructions, not what one feature costs at a matched opening.
DASMA is the Door & Access Systems Manufacturers Association. Its technical data sheets explain the terms used here.
R-value describes thermal resistance; higher means more resistance to heat flow. The units here are h·ft²·°F/Btu. A section's stated R-value is not the whole door's tested U-factor, which measures heat flow through the door assembly. DASMA definition.
The table uses ga for gauge, ext for exterior and int for interior.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Model | Seller's duty label | Seller-listed construction | Seller-listed gauge | Seller-listed R | Amarr-listed R | Starting price (USD) | Seller's regular price (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amarr 2402 | Standard | 1-layer non-insulated | 24 ga | not stated | not stated | $1,227.82 | $1,395.25 |
| Amarr 2002 | Heavy | 1-layer non-insulated | 20 ga | not stated | not stated | $1,414.88 | $1,607.82 |
| Amarr 2412 | Standard | 2-layer insulated, polystyrene with vinyl backer | 24 ga | 6.64 | 7 | $1,499.32 | $1,703.77 |
| Amarr 2731 | Standard | 3-layer insulated, polystyrene core bonded to steel | 27 ga ext / 27 ga int | 6.48 | 6.7 | $1,584.91 | $1,801.03 |
| Amarr 2012 | Heavy | 2-layer insulated, polystyrene with vinyl backer | 20 ga | 6.64 | 7 | $1,691.24 | $1,921.86 |
| Amarr 2432 | Heavy | 3-layer insulated, polystyrene core bonded to steel | 24 ga ext / 27 ga int | 9.05 | 9.4 | $1,785.10 | $2,028.52 |
| Amarr 2022 | Heavy | 3-layer insulated, laid-in polystyrene | 20 ga ext / 25 ga int | 6.64 | 7 | $1,988.40 | $2,259.55 |
| Amarr 2742 | Standard | 3-layer insulated, polyurethane foam injected core | 27 ga ext / 27 ga int | 19.4 | 19.4 | $2,240.72 | $2,546.27 |
Sources: Doors On-Line Amarr listings for prices, duty labels, construction and seller-listed R; Amarr 2402/2412/2422, 2002/2012/2022, 2731, 2432, 2742. Checked 17 September 2026. USD starting prices without a stated opening size or price-effective date; "regular" is the seller's comparison price. Manufacturer values describe the current named-model pages, not independent tests of the priced configuration. The seller lists freight separately: $360 for up to two doors, $475 for three or more, subject to location and volume.
The seller and Amarr disagree on several R-values: 2412, 2012 and 2022 are listed at 6.64 by the seller and 7.0 by Amarr; 2731 is 6.48 versus 6.7; 2432 is 9.05 versus 9.4. Confirm the quoted configuration and specification edition rather than silently substituting one for the other.
The 2402-to-2412 starting-price gap is +22.1%. Both seller listings use 24-gauge steel and the seller's Standard Duty label; the 2412 listing includes insulation. That step is $271.50, or 22.1%. (1,499.32 − 1,227.82) ÷ 1,227.82 × 100 = 22.1%. Without a stated opening and complete matched specification, it is not an insulation-only surcharge.
The 2402-to-2002 starting-price gap is +15.2%. The 2402 and the 2002 are both listed as 1-layer non-insulated doors. The 2002 listing uses 20-gauge sections instead of 24-gauge and is labelled Heavy Duty. That step is $187.06, or 15.2%. Again, these are unsized model starts, not a controlled price for heavier steel.
What you cannot do is read an R-value premium off this table, because the models also differ in construction and the priced opening is unknown. The 2742 start is $741.40 above the 2412 start; that is a model-price difference, not the price of an R-value.
One more thing worth knowing before you value-engineer the insulation out: the Hudson Valley dealer says sectional doors cannot be field-upgraded, but Amarr explicitly describes factory or field modification of its 2402/2412/2422 family. That contradicts a blanket "no retrofit" rule. Have the manufacturer or a qualified door dealer confirm the permitted upgrade for the exact model, including the effect on its hardware and balance. Do not treat this as a DIY modification.
What these prices do not include
The tables above are base or starting door prices, not complete project quotes. Resolve each of these separately:
- installation labour or access equipment
- an operator, controls or safety devices
- freight to your site, or unloading once it arrives
- removal and disposal of the old door
- electrical work
- any repair to the opening itself
- tax
Download: the full 148-cell price grid, the sectional table, and everything else on this page as CSV and JSON.
What installed actually costs
An installed price buys a project, not a product. That is why the numbers jump.
What public agencies received or accepted in bids
Public bodies publish bid results and acceptance records. These are real records, with the buyer named and the document linked. They are not final-payment records.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Buyer / project | Record date and meaning | Stated doors | Bidder | Bid amount (USD) | Bid ÷ door count (USD, calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis Convention Center, Event 3982 | 9 Apr 2026, Council acceptance | 4 | Yale Mechanical LLC | $193,200 | $48,300 |
| Wausau, WI, DPW replacement | 24 Jun 2025, bid opening | 2 | Central Door Solutions | $24,252 | $12,126 |
| Minneapolis Haaf Ramp, Event 4220 | 5 Aug 2026, bid opening | not stated | Sheehy Construction Company | $521,300 | not calculable |
| Minneapolis Haaf Ramp, Event 4220 | 5 Aug 2026, bid opening | not stated | Meisinger Construction Co., Inc. | $529,000 | not calculable |
| Minneapolis Haaf Ramp, Event 4220 | 5 Aug 2026, bid opening | not stated | Shaw Lundquist Associates, Inc. | $552,018 | not calculable |
Sources: Minneapolis Council agenda and official Council proceedings for the accepted Yale bid; Committee agenda for its four-door scope; Wausau published bid result; Minneapolis Event 4220 bid tabulation, page 1. Checked 17 September 2026. The per-door figures divide a project bid by its stated door count; they do not isolate the door product, prove a final payment or establish an installed market rate. Sizes are not stated in these records. In Event 4220, quantity "1" is paired with "LMP" (lump sum), not a count of doors.
Read these as project records, not as a market average. Scope, dimensions, site work and procurement conditions are not controlled across these jobs. The large Haaf totals are deliberately not divided by an invented door count.
What one dealer publishes for installed work
One Hudson Valley, New York dealer publishes these installed estimates:
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Configuration | Installed range |
|---|---|
| 8 × 8 ft commercial, 24-gauge | $2,000 – $3,900 |
| 10 × 10 ft commercial, 22-gauge, with operator | $3,300 – $6,600 |
| 14 × 14 ft commercial, 20-gauge, heavy duty | $5,400 – $9,600 |
| Multi-bay warehouse installs | $7,000 – $11,400 |
Source: Bill Reynolds Jr. Garage Doors, "Non-Insulated Commercial Sectional Doors — Estimated Pricing, Installed", checked 17 September 2026. USD; source price-effective date unstated. The seller describes these as typical Hudson Valley ranges for non-insulated commercial sectional doors. Only the 10 × 10 row names an operator in its configuration. The multi-bay row does not state a bay count, so a per-door figure cannot be derived from it — we have left it unresolved rather than guessing.
This is one dealer in one region, published as guidance. It is not a national figure and it is not a quote. The sectional starting-price table and these installed estimates concern sectional doors, but they do not establish a match between models, dimensions or installation scope.
Why you cannot just subtract
It is tempting to take an installed number, subtract a door price, and call the difference "installation." Don't. The three price kinds on this page have different products, different scopes, different regions and different denominators behind them:
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Price kind | What it buys | What it does not tell you |
|---|---|---|
| Rolling sheet grid price | One door and its hardware, at a stated size | Nothing about labour, operator, freight or your site |
| Sectional starting price | One door, model and construction known, size unknown | Nothing about your opening, and nothing about installation |
| Project bid or installed estimate | Work proposed or accepted under its stated scope | Final payment, complete inclusions, or whether that scope applies to your building |
Source: Uptime's editorial price-scope crosswalk, based on the seller grid, sectional starting prices, regional estimates and the agency bid tabulation.
Subtracting across those rows produces a number that looks precise and means nothing.
Here is one more reason to check online installed figures for commercial work. The sectional seller above attaches a footnote to its own installation option: its estimated labour rates are based on residential standards and are subject to change after a commercial site check. Those defaults do not establish a commercial installation allowance. Seller installation footnote.
The same project, three different bids
The three submitted Haaf bids differ by $30,718, or 5.9% of the lowest bid.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Project and bid opening | Submitted bids | Low bid (USD) | High bid (USD) | Spread (calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis Haaf Ramp vehicle-door installation, Event 4220, 5 Aug 2026 | 3 | $521,300 | $552,018 | $30,718 / +5.9% |
Source: City of Minneapolis Event 4220 bid tabulation, page 1, checked 17 September 2026. Spread is our calculation: (high − low) ÷ low × 100. These are submitted lump-sum bids for the same solicitation; the tabulation does not establish final payments, door count or a qualification finding for every bidder.
Same solicitation, different bidders. One quote tells you what one company proposes to charge. A second quote becomes useful when you compare the scope as well as the total.
Five things to check in the price
Check the opening, model requirements, operator and project scope before treating a price difference as the cost of one feature.
1. Opening size
Covered in the size table. Match the actual opening and price band before comparing models.
2. Wind-load rating
A wind-pressure rating describes the load a particular door configuration is designed to resist, in pounds per square foot (psf). Positive and negative pressures matter. The building's requirements depend on the applicable code and site conditions; the approval drawing must match the door size, mounting and anchorage. DASMA 207-2018, §3.1.1 · DASMA wind-load guidance.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Opening | Model 2500 (USD) | Model 3100 (USD) | Model-price difference | Model 3400 (USD) | Model-price difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 × 8 ft | $1,112 | $1,798 | +61.7% | $2,338 | +110.3% |
| 10 × 10 ft | $1,479 | $2,265 | +53.1% | $2,944 | +99.1% |
| 12 × 12 ft | $1,989 | $2,731 | +37.3% | $3,550 | +78.5% |
| 14 × 14 ft | $2,425 | $3,375 | +39.2% | no listed price | — |
| 16 × 16 ft | $2,910 | $4,019 | +38.1% | no listed price | — |
Sources: Roll Up Doors Direct Model 2500, 3100 and 3400, checked 17 September 2026. USD base door-and-hardware prices at size-band upper bounds; price-effective dates unstated. Differences are our calculation against Model 2500 at the same band. Across 41 matched 3100/2500 pairs the difference runs 20.6%–62.0%; across 24 matched 3400/2500 pairs it runs 61.3%–110.7%. These compare entire models, not isolated wind-rating or approval costs.
There is a source disagreement worth catching before purchase. The seller lists Model 3100 at +36/−41 psf through 12 ft wide; Janus lists +35/−41 psf. Both list +35/−38 psf over 12 through 16 ft wide. Janus lists a maximum Model 3100 size of 20 × 14 ft; the seller's price grid also contains other height bands. For Model 3400, Janus lists +43/−49 psf, a 24-gauge curtain, Satin White and a maximum 12 × 16 ft size, while the seller's descriptive text says up to 12 × 18 ft. Use the applicable product-approval drawing for the exact opening, not the price grid or a marketing bullet alone.
The relevant published sheet-door standard is DASMA 207-2018. DASMA 203-2020 covers non-fire-rated interlocking-slat rolling doors and expressly excludes rolling sheet doors. Its standards are not automatically law just because they are published. Use the code, contract and manufacturer instructions that apply to the project. Do not assume a wind-rated product is approved for every wood, steel or masonry mounting.
3. Insulation and steel gauge
Covered in the sectional table: the unsized 2402→2412 starts differ by 22.1%, and 2402→2002 by 15.2%. Neither comparison isolates the cost of insulation or heavier steel.
There is also a code question. In the 2021 model edition of the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), §C402.4.5.2 gives a path for opaque nonswinging horizontally hinged sectional doors with a single row of glazing covering 14%–25% of the door: assembly U-factor no greater than 0.440 in Climate Zones 0–6 or 0.360 in Zones 7–8, in Btu/(h·ft²·°F). Its exception points other doors to §C402.4.3; §C402.4.5 also references Table C402.1.4 for opaque doors. This is not a claim that every project follows that special glazing provision. ICC, 2021 IECC §§C402.4.5–C402.4.5.2.
U-factor measures heat flow through the whole assembly — lower is better. It is not the reciprocal of the section R-value manufacturers print, because the two use different methods and describe different scopes. DASMA TDS 196 explains the distinction. The catch is jurisdictional: which edition of the energy code applies where you are building is set by your state or local adoption, and the newest edition does not govern everywhere. Ask the authority having jurisdiction before you assume.
4. The operator — and its duty rating
An operator is a separate product from the door, and its price tells you almost nothing without its duty rating.
Take a real example. One seller lists the LiftMaster LJ8900W at $516.99 (SKU LIF-LJ8900W). LiftMaster identifies it as a light-duty commercial operator for sectional doors and lists a safety sensor kit and cable-tension monitor kit among its accessories. The manufacturer rates that model at a maximum of 10 cycles per hour and fewer than 25 cycles per day.
Fewer than 25 cycles per day. That is the condition to compare with the intended use, not just the price on the listing. This sectional-door example is not a compatibility recommendation for the rolling-sheet doors above.
So when you compare quotes, compare the model numbers and their rated duty, then the price. Not the other way round.
Sources: LiftMaster LJ8900W product page for application, included accessories and rated duty; All Security Equipment listing for the $516.99 USD asking price. Checked 17 September 2026; seller price-effective date unstated. Operator product only, not installation.
5. Cycle life, fire rating and the rest
Cycle life. Ask what a quoted cycle rating covers. ANSI/DASMA 109-2017 provides a test method for sectional-door life-cycling performance; that does not establish that every commercial door rating uses it. DASMA's Technical Data Sheet 190 adds a warning worth remembering: spring cycle life and door cycle life are not the same thing. Ask for the rating in writing; do not accept "heavy duty" as an answer. Standard listing · TDS 190.
Fire rating. A fire-rated rolling door is a different product under a different standard — DASMA 204-2025 covers fire-rated rolling door assemblies. Budget for the inspection and testing scope as well as the door: DASMA TDS 271 recommends an annual or more frequent inspection and drop-test arrangement. The applicable code, adopted NFPA 80 edition (Standard for Fire Doors and Other Opening Protectives) and manufacturer instructions determine the project's requirements. DASMA standard listing.
Air leakage. DASMA 112-2023 provides an air-leakage test method; it is not the only possible source of a published leakage value or a universal legal limit. If a quote claims a sealing performance, ask which test. DASMA 112-2023.
Freight. Real money, often forgotten. The sectional seller above lists $360 for up to two doors and $475 for three or more — $180 per door at two, $158.33 at three, by our arithmetic — and states rates vary by location and volume. These are Doors On-Line's estimates, not freight for a Roll Up Doors Direct order. Roll Up Doors Direct's own delivery terms also make unloading and access worth checking.
Removal and disposal. Ask whether removing the existing door and operator, and hauling them away, are inside the price. If your quote is silent on the old door, that is a question, not an omission you can ignore.
The full driver-by-driver table, with the source, evidence type and limits for each, is in the download.
How tariffs and metal prices have changed
Tariff rules and metal-price indexes changed. Neither tells us how much a particular finished door or installed quote changed.
The tariff rule changed on 6 April 2026
The Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) identifies steel door and frame lines 7308.30.10 and 7308.30.50, and an aluminium door/window/frame line 7610.10.00. All three appear in Annex I-A of Proclamation 11021 of 2 April 2026 (91 FR 18201). Published Annex I-A, PDF pages 3 and 9.
What changed: from 6 April 2026, the default additional 50% Section 232 duty for these listed products applies to the full customs value, subject to the proclamation's exceptions. Under the previous rule — Proclamation 10947, effective 4 June 2025 — the default rate was also 50%, but for a covered Chapter 73 steel derivative it applied only to the steel-content value. These are additional Section 232 rates, not a calculation of every duty an importer may owe.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Period | Default additional Section 232 rate | Basis for the covered Chapter 73 steel derivative |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Mar–3 Jun 2025 | 25% | Full article value; the steel-content-only rule applied to listed derivatives outside Chapter 73 |
| 4 Jun 2025–5 Apr 2026 | 50% | Steel-content value under the June rule |
| From 6 Apr 2026 | 50% | Full customs value under the April rule, with origin/content exceptions |
Sources: Proclamation 10896 and CBP March 2025 guidance; Proclamation 10947, operative clauses 1, 6 and 7; Proclamation 11021, clauses 1–2. Checked 17 September 2026. This is a historical default-rate comparison for covered Chapter 73 products, not every origin or all import duties.
Two qualifications matter to buyers. Qualifying derivatives made from US metal have a 10% tier under the April rule; qualifying United Kingdom products have a 25% tier. The June amendment changed the US-metal qualification threshold from 95% to at least 85% by weight of the product's relevant metal content, effective 8 June 2026. Special rules also remain for Russian aluminium. The importer needs to establish the classification, origin and metal-content treatment; a country label alone does not settle it. April rule, clauses 2 and 8 · June rule, clauses 1 and 4.
This applies at import. It does not automatically mean a domestic manufacturer's price rose by the same amount, and we make no claim about what any manufacturer charges. Do not add 50% to an installed quote or to a retail price that may already reflect import costs. Ask the seller what its price includes.
Steel itself
The US steel mill products index rose 45.7% from January 2025 to August 2026. The broader fabricated-product series below rose by smaller percentages; none is a finished-door price series.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| US Producer Price Index series, not seasonally adjusted | Jan 2025 (index points) | Aug 2026 (index points, prelim.) | Change (calculated) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steel mill products (WPU1017) | 261.563 | 381.162 | +45.7% |
| Iron and steel (WPU101) | 286.655 | 378.128 | +31.9% |
| Metals and metal products (WPU10) | 306.869 | 388.690 | +26.7% |
| Fabricated structural metal products (WPU107) | 365.431 | 413.731 | +13.2% |
| Sheet metal products (WPU1073) | 320.099 | 360.421 | +12.6% |
| Prefabricated metal buildings (WPU1079) | 541.629 | 602.887 | +11.3% |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Producer Price Index, Metals and metal products table, not seasonally adjusted, checked 17 September 2026. US index points, not dollar prices. BLS marks May through August 2026 as preliminary. Percentage changes are our calculation: (August 2026 ÷ January 2025 − 1) × 100. All 120 monthly values are in the download.
Look at the gap between the top row and the bottom three. Steel mill products rose 45.7%; the three broader fabricated-product series rose 11.3%–13.2%. Those different changes show why a mill-product index cannot establish that a particular finished door rose by the same percentage.
These indexes measure US producer prices for the named metal-product groups, not finished commercial doors or installed projects. None of these six is a commercial garage door price index. Use them to understand the specified input or product group, not to price a door. BLS definition of PPI.
Adjusting an old number
For a budget component explicitly linked to a suitable index, the adjustment formula is below. Do not apply a steel-mill index to an entire installed quote unless the contract actually calls for that method. BLS recommends selecting indexes and adjustment terms that fit the contract. BLS price-adjustment guide.
Adjusted figure = original figure × (latest index ÷ index for the original month)
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| Original component month | US steel mill products index (points, not seasonally adjusted) | Factor to Aug 2026 (calculated) |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 2025 | 261.563 | × 1.4572 |
| Mar 2025 | 287.362 | × 1.3264 |
| Jun 2025 | 309.231 | × 1.2326 |
| Sep 2025 | 304.579 | × 1.2514 |
| Dec 2025 | 312.410 | × 1.2201 |
| Mar 2026 | 331.357 | × 1.1503 |
Source: BLS steel mill products series WPU1017, US, not seasonally adjusted, checked 17 September 2026. August 2026 is preliminary. Factors are our calculation: 381.162 ÷ original-month index, shown to four decimals; use unrounded inputs for money calculations.
Worked example. An illustrative $9,000 steel-index-linked budget component from March 2025: $9,000 × (381.162 ÷ 287.362) = $11,937.76, or $11,938 to the nearest dollar.
Treat that as an illustration of the formula, not a new quote or a forecast. It escalates only the chosen component on steel mill product prices; it does not measure how finished doors or installation changed. The full monthly table with a factor for every month is in the download.
How to read and compare two quotes
The cheapest quote is only cheaper if it covers the same work. Here is a method that does not quietly turn missing work into free work.
Mark every line with one of five states
A blank is not a zero. That single rule fixes most bad quote comparisons.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| State | What it means | How to treat it |
|---|---|---|
| Priced | A separately stated amount, including a genuine quoted $0 | Add it to the subtotal |
| Included in another line | Covered inside a priced bundle | Point at that bundle; do not count it twice |
| Excluded, not priced | The quote says it is not included, with no amount | Leave it unresolved and go get a number |
| Unknown | The quote is silent | Leave it unresolved and go ask |
| Not applicable | It genuinely does not apply here | Write down why |
Source: Uptime's editorial quote-comparison framework. The five states describe evidence in a quote, not legal requirements.
The 13 things a complete commercial door quote answers
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| # | Scope item | The question to resolve |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Door assembly | Exact manufacturer, model, mechanism, opening size and construction |
| 2 | Tracks or guides and counterbalance | Which package is supplied, and is it already inside the door line? |
| 3 | Operator or chain hoist | Exact model, rated duty, and manual or powered |
| 4 | Controls and safety devices | Which devices are supplied for this system |
| 5 | Freight | Destination, who arranges it, who pays |
| 6 | Unloading and site access | Who unloads the truck, access limits, storage before install |
| 7 | Removal and disposal | The existing door and operator, and hauling them away |
| 8 | Installation and access equipment | Labour, lifts or scaffolding, commissioning, and named exclusions |
| 9 | Electrical work | Existing supply, and any separately priced circuit or connection work |
| 10 | Opening or structural work | Framing, masonry, headroom and clearance, and who assesses it |
| 11 | Permits or inspection, where they apply | Who decides whether one applies, who files, who pays |
| 12 | Tax | A quoted amount, or an explanation if it does not apply |
| 13 | Testing, documentation and warranty scope | Who commissions the system, supplies manuals, and what is covered |
Source: Uptime's editorial checklist for making two quotes comparable. This is not a claim that every item is separately chargeable or legally required on your project. A printable version with columns for two quotes is in the download.
Then total only what is priced
Known subtotal = Σ (per-door price × quantity) + Σ (per-project prices)
Show the unresolved items next to the subtotal, not inside it. Only when every one of the 13 has a resolved state should you show "Total of entered costs." That is the total of the information entered, not a guarantee that the supplier has priced every possible site condition.
Worked example. Two 12 × 12 ft rolling sheet doors at the published Model 2000 price: 2 × $1,652 = $3,304 in known product cost. Freight is still unknown: the $360 band above belongs to Doors On-Line, not this door's seller. Installation, unloading, removal, electrical and tax are also unresolved — so there is no project total yet. Model 2000 price source.
Before contacting a contractor, use the worksheet to separate the details you already know from the questions that still need an answer.
Repair or replace?
A broken door is not automatically a replaced door. Whether a track, operator, cable or damaged section can be repaired depends on the condition, available parts and manufacturer requirements. A change in the required rating can also change the replacement decision. Have the fault and the proposed scope assessed before comparing replacement prices. Amarr commercial-door guidance.
Get the fault identified before you price a replacement. Our guide to diagnosing commercial overhead door problems covers the common failures and how to describe them accurately.
One safety note, and it is not a formality: a broken spring or damaged cable can leave a door unsafe. Stop using it, keep people and vehicles clear, and get a trained door systems technician to it. Spring and cable work is not a DIY line item, and no price on this page is worth anyone's hand. DASMA spring and cable safety guidance.
What this page cannot tell you
We would rather you trust the numbers that are here than believe we have numbers we do not.
- These are published prices, not paid invoices. We read seller price lists and public records. We did not run a checkout, survey installers, or collect invoices.
- The sellers do not state when their prices took effect. We recorded the date we read them. A price could have been posted last week or last year.
- The rolling sheet grid is one seller and four models. High-speed doors, fire-rated doors, full-vision doors and rolling service doors are not priced here at all.
- The sectional starting prices have no opening size attached. They are model listings, not a quote for your 12 × 12 or a controlled price for insulation.
- The installed evidence is limited. Five public-bid or acceptance records and four estimates from one regional dealer. Only two public records have a verified door count. The three Haaf bids cover one project, not three independent installations.
- Door sizes were not stated in the public records used here, so those rows cannot be reduced to a cost per square foot.
- Nothing here is a national average. We did not find a defensible source for one, and we would rather say so than invent a range.
- Uptime does not sell or install doors or issue project quotes. We are a commercial service-referral publisher, not a contractor or a dealer. Our commercial dock and door service options explain the service side.
What could change the reference: a seller re-pricing its grid, an updated manufacturer specification, a new tariff action, BLS revising preliminary months, a jurisdiction changing its adopted code, or new public records with dimensions and detailed scope.
Methodology
What we did. On 17 September 2026 we checked the four rolling-sheet price grids, the sectional seller listings, current manufacturer pages, the operator listing, the regional installed estimates, agency procurement records, federal tariff documents, the BLS table and the code/standards sources linked below. Some evidence was available as an indexed extract of the issuer's page rather than a fresh full-page fetch; the source register records that distinction. We did not complete checkout, collect invoices or independently test a door.
How rows were built. Prices are transcribed as displayed. Sizes on the rolling-sheet grids are published in bands; we recorded each band's upper bound as the nominal size. That gives the lowest calculated price per square foot within that band, not a measured opening or installation approval. Where the grid has no cell, the table says "no listed price." Missing numeric values are empty in CSV and null in JSON, never zero. The unknown multi-bay count and the Haaf lump-sum quantity do not become door counts.
How derived figures were computed. Cost per square foot is price ÷ (width × height). Whole-model differences are (comparison price − base price) ÷ base price × 100; rolling-sheet comparisons match size-band upper bounds, while sectional comparisons are explicitly unsized. Bid-normalised cost per door is bid amount ÷ stated door count. Bid spread is (high − low) ÷ low × 100. Index changes are (latest − earlier) ÷ earlier × 100. Calculations use unrounded inputs, with rounding only for display. Every retained calculation is reproduced by the build script in the download, so you can check our arithmetic rather than take our word for it.
What we did not combine. We did not average a door-only price together with an installed estimate, infer labour by subtracting unrelated sellers' prices, or turn a submitted bid into a paid invoice. The source, date type, missing dimensions and scope limits remain attached to the records.
Evidence marks. ★ Source-reported means we read it in the cited source. ● Calculated means we computed it from cited inputs with the formula shown. Both are verified; neither means pending.
Download the data
The Uptime Commercial Garage Door Cost Evidence Ledger, version 1.1.0, compiled 17 September 2026. The price and index records carry source URLs and verification dates; the quote worksheet is our editorial framework.
Scroll horizontally to view all columns.
| File | Rows | Contents |
|---|---|---|
| commercial-garage-door-price-matrix.csv | 148 | Rolling-sheet base prices, size bands, seller/model claims, source links and calculated cost per square foot |
| commercial-sectional-door-starting-prices.csv | 8 | Unsized sectional starts with seller labels and separately sourced manufacturer R-values |
| commercial-garage-door-wind-rating-premium.csv | 41 | Whole-model comparisons: 41 pairs for 3100 and 24 for 3400; the legacy filename does not mean an isolated certification premium |
| commercial-garage-door-installed-price-ledger.csv | 9 | Five public-bid/acceptance records and four regional estimates; missing door counts stay null |
| commercial-garage-door-bid-spread.csv | 1 | Haaf Event 4220 low/high bid spread, source and formula |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-driver-crosswalk.csv | 20 | Source-linked cost questions with evidence type, limits and scope; not twenty legal requirements |
| commercial-garage-door-steel-price-index.csv | 120 | Six US BLS monthly series, January 2025–August 2026, with preliminary flags and calculated factors |
| commercial-door-quote-scope-worksheet.csv | 13 | Two-quote worksheet with status, amount, basis, quantity, bundle reference and reason fields |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-sources.csv | 42 | Issuer, title, exact locator, edition/period, URL, retrieval method and verification date |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-dataset.json | — | All data tables and metadata in one matching JSON file |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-key-figures.json | — | Key figures with inputs, source links, denominators and formulas |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-chart-inputs.json | — | Optional chart inputs; original index levels kept separate from normalised series |
| commercial-garage-door-cost-data-dictionary.md | — | Field meanings, units, null rules, data scope and reuse notice |
| build-commercial-garage-door-cost-dataset.py | — | Self-contained script that rebuilds the CSV and JSON files |
Source: Uptime compilation, version 1.1.0, checked 17 September 2026. Row counts describe the supplied files, not independent projects or a representative market sample. No blanket reuse licence is granted; underlying documents retain any applicable rights. The files contain factual observations and Uptime calculations, not copied standard text, manual pages or source layouts.
Sources
Checked 17 September 2026. Seller price-effective dates are unstated unless a record supplies one. The downloadable source register gives the exact locator and retrieval method.
Seller and manufacturer evidence
- Roll Up Doors Direct, Model 2000 rolling sheet door price grid — price-effective date not stated.
- Roll Up Doors Direct, Model 2500 rolling sheet door price grid — price-effective date not stated.
- Roll Up Doors Direct, Model 3100 wind-load certified door price grid — price-effective date not stated.
- Roll Up Doors Direct, Model 3400 Miami-Dade wind certified door price grid — price-effective date not stated.
- Doors On-Line, Inc., Commercial Sectional Overhead Doors by Amarr - model listings, starting prices, shipping and installation footnote — price-effective date not stated.
- Bill Reynolds Jr. Garage Doors, Non-Insulated Commercial Sectional Doors - Estimated Pricing, Installed — Price-effective date unstated.
- LiftMaster (Chamberlain Group), LJ8900W Light-Duty Commercial Door Operator for Sectional Doors — read 2026-09-17.
- All Security Equipment, LiftMaster LJ8900W, SKU LIF-LJ8900W — read 2026-09-17.
- Janus International, Series 3100 — Edition unstated.
- Janus International, Series 3400 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, 2402/2412/2422 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, 2002/2012/2022 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, 2731 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, 2432 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, 2742 — Edition unstated.
- Amarr, Commercial door support FAQs — Edition unstated.
- Roll Up Doors Direct, Delivery — Edition unstated.
Public procurement records
- City of Minneapolis, City Council marked agenda / acceptance of Yale Mechanical bid, Event 3982 — Council acceptance April 9, 2026.
- City of Minneapolis (published in Finance & Commerce), City Council official proceedings, action 2026A-0247 — April 9, 2026 action; published April 18, 2026.
- City of Minneapolis, Committee of the Whole marked agenda — April 7, 2026.
- City of Wausau, Bid Tabulations - 2025 DPW Overhead Door Replacement — bids opened 2025-06-24.
- City of Minneapolis, Event 4220, Haaf Ramp Vehicle Door Installation Project — Bids opened August 5, 2026.
Federal documents and statistics
- Executive Office of the President, Proclamation 10896, Adjusting Imports of Steel — February 10, 2025; effective March 12.
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection, CSMS 64348411, Import duties on steel and derivative products — March 7, 2025; effective March 12.
- Executive Office of the President, Proclamation 10947 of June 3, 2025, Adjusting Imports of Aluminum and Steel Into the United States — 90 FR 24199.
- Executive Office of the President, Proclamation 11021 of April 2, 2026, Strengthening Actions Taken To Adjust Imports of Aluminum, Steel, and Copper Into the United States — 91 FR 18201, published 2026-04-09.
- The White House, Annexes I-A, I-B, II, III and IV to Proclamation 11021 — April 2026.
- Executive Office of the President, Proclamation 11032, Further Adjusting the Tariff Regimes — 91 FR 34085, June 4, 2026; effective June 8.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Producer Price Index - Metals and metal products, US table — monthly, Jan 2025 - Aug 2026, Aug 2026 preliminary.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Price Adjustment Guide for Contracting Parties — Web guide checked September 17, 2026.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, What is the Producer Price Index? — Checked September 17, 2026.
Standards, code and safety references
- Door & Access Systems Manufacturers Association (DASMA), DASMA standards index: names and stated scopes/editions — read 2026-09-17.
- Door & Access Systems Manufacturers Association (DASMA), Technical Data Sheet 190, Factors Affecting Spring Cycle Life — rev. 3/19/14, reaffirmed 4/17 and 2/21.
- International Code Council, 2021 International Energy Conservation Code, Chapter 4 [CE], Sections C402.4.5–C402.4.5.2 — 2021 edition.
- DASMA, TDS 196, U-factor and thermal performance verification — Revised June 2024.
- DASMA, TDS 163, U-factor and R-value — Revised July 6, 2022.
- DASMA, DASMA 207-2018, Standard for Rolling Sheet Doors — 2018.
- DASMA, DASMA 203-2020, Standard for Non-Fire Rated Rolling Doors — 2020.
- DASMA, DASMA 112, air-leakage test method — 2023 (not the 2024 upload year).
- DASMA, TDS 271, Rolling Steel Fire Doors: Periodic Inspection and Drop-Testing — Revised June 2025.
- DASMA, Safety tips: Garage Doors — Edition unstated.
- DASMA, Technical Data Sheets index — Checked September 17, 2026.
How to cite this page
Uptime Dock & Door Research. "Commercial Garage Door Cost: Door Prices vs. Installed Cost." Uptime Commercial Garage Door Cost Evidence Ledger, version 1.1.0, compiled 17 September 2026. uptimedockanddoor.com/research/commercial-garage-door-cost/
If you are citing a single price, please attribute it to the seller and the exact configuration it belongs to. Cite us for the compilation, the comparison framework, or a calculation.
Common cost questions
Is a commercial garage door more expensive than a residential one? A residential one-car or two-car price is not a reliable comparison without matching the size, construction, duty and installation scope. A 12 × 12 ft opening has 144 sq ft of area; a 9 × 7 ft opening has 63 sq ft. That is 2.29 times the area by our calculation, but not a price multiplier. Residential doors can also have wind ratings; "commercial" alone does not identify the required performance. DASMA residential and commercial wind-load guides.
Does the door price include the opener? The rolling-sheet grid prices do not include an operator. The Hudson Valley 10 × 10 ft installed estimate explicitly names one; other installed rows do not establish the same inclusion. An operator is a separate product with its own model number and its own duty rating — see the operator section. Door grid · Installed-estimate table.
Can I add insulation to a sectional door later? Sometimes, for a manufacturer-approved model and configuration. Amarr describes factory or field modification for its 2402/2412/2422 family. That is not permission to add insulation to any door or ignore changes to the counterbalance. Confirm the exact model and permitted work with the manufacturer or a qualified door professional. Amarr source.
Is there a cost per square foot I can use? Not a universal one. In the 148-cell rolling-sheet grid we compiled, calculated base cost per square foot ranges from $10.44 to $36.53 using each size band's upper bounds. The six Model 2500 square sizes show a falling rate as area increases; not every non-square sequence does. A single square-foot rate cannot reproduce all those model and size prices. See the source-linked size table.
Why is my quote so much higher than the prices here? First check which price you are comparing: a base door, an unsized starting price, a regional estimate or a public project bid. Work it through the 13-item scope list. Labour, operator and safety devices, freight, removal, and opening work are questions to resolve—not a proven explanation for every quote.