Skip to main content
UPTIME DOCK & DOORKeep Every Bay Moving.

Dock Leveler Cost: Published Prices, and What the Price Tag Leaves Out

Dock leveler cost depends on the unit and the work around it. Published examples include a Vestil FM-3066 mechanical edge-of-dock unit at $1,479 and a Vestil EH-710-30 hydraulic pit unit at $13,039 with standard freight included. These are seller-price observations, not installed quotes. Installation, site work and other unresolved charges still need pricing.

Sources: WebstaurantStore FM-3066 and Material Lift Supply EH-710-30, source representations reviewed 17 September 2026; USD per listed unit. The higher price includes standard less-than-truckload freight to a commercial address.

Data edition: seller-source observations reviewed September 2026 · price index through August 2026
Last verified: 17 September 2026 · Uptime Dock & Door Research

Source capture dates vary; supplier price-effective dates are unknown. These are not live quotes. Download the price data or jump to the quote checklist.


Key figures

★ Source-reported means read in the cited issuer's source. ● Calculated means computed by us from cited inputs, with the formula shown. Neither label means a live quote or independent equipment testing.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Selected published dock leveler price observations by mounting type
Equipment in selected US-facing offers, source review 17 Sep 2026★ Published USD amountsWhat the price covers—and what it does not establish
Mechanical edge-of-dock$1,479–$2,416Selected listed amounts, including a seller-labelled factory list price; no complete installed scope.
Powered edge-of-dock$3,419 advertised “as low as”; $4,449 displayedDifferent products and price bases; the lower amount has unconfirmed qualifying conditions.
Mechanical pit-mounted$5,386–$11,287Selected listing/table amounts; not an installed-cost or national-market range.
Electric hydraulic pit-mounted$6,430–$13,039Selected seller observations; the $13,039 offer includes stated standard freight.

Sources: WebstaurantStore, The Yard Ramp Guy, Global Industrial category, Global RR-68-20, Diverse Supply table, FAI hydraulic table and Material Lift Supply. USD for selected US-facing offers reviewed 17 September 2026, not a representative survey. Capture ages and price bases differ. The FAI hydraulic text was captured about six months before review; the table's effective date is not stated. A separate configurable range is excluded here. Complete source-linked records: listing CSV and matrix CSV.

  • Diverse Supply's reseller table contains 56 mechanical pit-leveler prices, from $5,553 to $11,287, across eight size codes and seven capacities. The table is undated; it was reviewed on 17 September 2026. Source: Diverse Supply.
  • Within those eight size codes, the 50,000 lb amount is 31.1% above the 20,000 lb amount on average, with changes from 20.1% to 46.0%. This is an unweighted average of eight price ratios, not an industry premium. Source inputs: Diverse Supply.
  • US producer-price index WPU1144 rose 62.9% from May 2016 to August 2026, from 209.100 to 340.672. It covers industrial material handling equipment broadly—not dock-leveler retail or installation alone. Source: BLS via FRED, 10 September 2026 vintage.
  • All 56 standard Vestil RR chart rows follow the same size-code relationship: pit width is nominal feet × 12 + 2 inches; pit length is nominal feet × 12 − 10 inches. That is a lookup rule for this chart, not a construction specification. Source: Vestil RR chart.

On this page


What do the published dock leveler prices cover?

The equipment price is not the installed-project total. An edge-of-dock leveler mounts at the dock face without the pit used by a conventional pit-mounted unit. A pit-mounted leveler sits in a recess in the dock floor. Those are different installations, not interchangeable ways to buy the cheapest ramp. Vestil's mounting descriptions and RR pit chart establish the distinction.

The table above shows selected published amounts. Here are the individual listing records behind this reference; the full 56-cell reseller matrix follows in the next section.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Individual published dock leveler listing records and price scope
Record / sellerListed model or identifier★ Published USD amountPrice basis / important scope
L01 · Global IndustrialEZ-Pull WB986634$1,499.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L02 · Global IndustrialEZ-Pull WB986638$1,799.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L03 · Global IndustrialDL Series WB390202$1,749.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L05 · Global IndustrialFM-2572 (WBB2350144)$1,899.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L06 · Global IndustrialFM-2072 (WB988125)$1,889.00As low as; qualifying quantity/configuration not established
L07 · Global Industrial30EP66 (WB986640)$2,049.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L08 · Global Industrial20EP78 (WB986636)$2,199.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L09 · Global IndustrialWBB3147218$3,419.00As low as; qualifying quantity/configuration not established
L10 · Global IndustrialHED Series WB390204$4,449.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L11 · Global IndustrialRR-68-20$5,386.00Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L14 · Material Lift SupplyEH-710-30$13,039.00Seller List Price; standard LTL to commercial addresses included
L15 · WebstaurantStoreFM-3066$1,479.00Displayed /Each amount
L16 · Yard Ramp Guy30EP72$2,416.00Seller-labelled FACTORY LIST PRICE, not a transaction
L17 · Action DirectSELCRG (configurable)$1,866.67–$5,104.62Offered range across configurations; no single unit selected
L19 · Spill911RR-68-40$6,535.69Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction
L23 · Spill911EH-710-20$6,941.14Displayed seller amount; not a confirmed transaction; source capture reported 1.3 years old, not current pricing
L24 · Fabrication Authorities International (FAI)RR-68-20$6,235.00Named-model seller table amount; final price confirmation requested; freight excluded
L25 · Fabrication Authorities International (FAI)EH-68-20$6,430.00Named-model seller table amount; final price confirmation requested; source capture reported six months old; freight excluded

Sources: the linked seller page or issuer excerpt in each row, reviewed 17 September 2026; USD for US-facing offers. Price labels are the sellers' labels. The CSV keeps capture ages, model identifiers, manufacturer-specification sources, freight qualifications and missing fields. No row establishes a complete installed-project total. The configurable Action Direct range is not one unit price.

Two things about that table.

First, every number is a published seller amount, not what anyone paid. A list price, a promotional “as low as” amount, a configurable range and a freight-included offer are different kinds of number. A negotiated or contract quote may differ; this dataset does not establish the direction or size of that difference.

Second, a smaller equipment-price gap does not make two units interchangeable. A powered edge-of-dock listing at $4,449 and a mechanical pit listing at $5,386 solve different fit and operating questions. Compare the required equipment first, then the complete project scope. Global Industrial listings and RR-68-20 listing.

A worked example

Say you have been quoted for a 20,000 lb pull-chain leveler in an existing 74 × 86 in pit. These two published records use matching RR size/capacity codes, but the reseller table does not explicitly identify the manufacturer:

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Worked comparison of two published RR-68-20 price observations
SellerModelPublished priceFreightLead time
Global IndustrialVestil RR-68-20$5,386.00Not stated40 business days
Diverse SupplyDS-RR-68 table row, 20,000 lb$6,893.00Quoted separatelyNot stated

Sources: Global Industrial RR-68-20 and Diverse Supply DS-RR-68 table, source representations reviewed 17 September 2026; USD per listed unit/table cell. ● Difference: $6,893 − $5,386 = $1,507; $1,507 ÷ $5,386 × 100 = 28.0%. Effective-price dates are unknown. Confirm the reseller's manufacturer and full model before treating these as identical offers.

28.0% apart on the page—but not yet a like-for-like quote. That is the useful next question: ask the seller to confirm the manufacturer, full model, configuration and included work before deciding that one offer is cheaper.


What moves the price

Capacity and size both move the number. The comparisons below do not support a universal rule that one matters more than the other.

Rated capacity is a manufacturer's rating for stated conditions, not simply permission to cross with any forklift whose loaded weight is below that number. Vestil labels its family-chart field Uniform Capacity; DLM uses Comparative Industry Rating. Keep the actual label attached, and have the supplier confirm the rating for your loaded equipment, traffic and operating conditions. Vestil RR chart, DLM specifications and Pentalift capacity guidance.

Here is what the selected price comparisons show:

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Published price comparisons by capacity, size and activation
What changesWhat it does to the published priceEvidence
Capacity, 20,000 → 50,000 lb+31.1% on average (range +20.1% to +46.0%) across 8 footprints56-cell price matrix
Nominal size, 6 × 5 ft → 7 × 10 ft, at 20,000 lb+66.2%; nominal area ratio 2.3×, not measured deck areaDiverse Supply: $5,553 → $9,228
Mechanical → electric hydraulic, selected FAI pair+$195, or +3.1%RR-68-20 $6,235; EH-68-20 $6,430; different source-capture ages
Pit-mounted → edge-of-dockDifferent installation and operating fit; no fixed price ratio establishedSelected offers and manufacturer mounting descriptions

Sources: Diverse Supply price table, FAI mechanical table and FAI hydraulic table, reviewed 17 September 2026; USD per stated model/capacity. ● Percentages are our calculations: (comparison amount ÷ base amount − 1) × 100. Capacity average is the unweighted mean of eight 20,000-to-50,000 lb comparisons. These do not isolate manufacturing costs or establish general premiums.

The capacity example in the same-size DS-RR-68 row is $8,277 at 50,000 lb, against $6,893 at 20,000 lb. ● That is $1,384 more, or 20.1%. The Vestil RR chart also shows different construction across capacities: the published deck plate changes from 1/4 in to 3/8 in at 45,000 lb. That does not mean steel thickness and weight are the only differences. Diverse Supply price inputs; Vestil RR-68-20 and RR-68-50 specifications.

The complete mechanical price matrix

The price is one published USD amount per size-code/capacity cell. Column headings are capacities in pounds, not recommended application limits.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Complete 56-cell mechanical dock leveler price matrix
Reseller size code / nominal W × L20,000 lb25,000 lb30,000 lb35,000 lb40,000 lb45,000 lb50,000 lb
DS-RR-65 / 6 × 5 ft$5,553$5,699$5,821$6,049$6,468$6,777$7,337
DS-RR-66 / 6 × 6 ft$6,093$6,364$6,588$6,849$7,388$7,782$8,237
DS-RR-68 / 6 × 8 ft$6,893$7,194$7,691$7,889$7,888$8,122$8,277
DS-RR-75 / 7 × 5 ft$6,108$6,374$7,161$7,599$8,098$8,452$8,917
DS-RR-76 / 7 × 6 ft$6,638$6,699$7,431$7,999$8,188$8,569$9,287
DS-RR-78 / 7 × 8 ft$6,978$7,264$7,461$8,039$8,499$8,842$9,257
DS-RR-610 / 6 × 10 ft$8,658$7,794$9,349$9,809$10,098$10,262$10,417
DS-RR-710 / 7 × 10 ft$9,228$8,954$9,793$10,297$10,568$10,897$11,287

Source: Diverse Supply's DS-RR table, reviewed 17 September 2026; table effective date unknown; freight quoted separately. Prices are ★ Source-reported. Three cells decrease as capacity rises; they are kept as published. The downloadable join to Vestil's RR specifications uses matching family codes and capacities; the seller's manufacturer identity still needs confirmation before ordering.

Cost per 1,000 pounds of capacity

Normalising the matrix gives an arithmetic comparison, not a rule for selecting a leveler.

Published price ÷ (rated capacity ÷ 1,000) ranges from $147 (RR-65-50, the smallest footprint at the highest rating) to $461 (RR-710-20, the largest footprint at the lowest rating).

That 3.1× spread compares different sizes and ratings. It does not show which leveler is suitable or better value for your dock. Length affects operating grade, and width must fit the loading task. Do not shrink the deck to improve a dollar-per-pound figure. Pentalift selection guidance.

Calculation source: Diverse Supply, reviewed 17 September 2026. $7,337 ÷ 50 = $146.74 per 1,000 lb; $9,228 ÷ 20 = $461.40. Rounded display: $147–$461; ratio: 3.1×. These are prices per stated rating, not independently tested load values.


Mechanical, hydraulic, air: what the activation costs

The selected FAI table amounts differ by $195, or 3.1%: $6,235 for RR-68-20 mechanical and $6,430 for EH-68-20 electric hydraulic. Both are 20,000 lb model rows, but this is a seller-table comparison—not a general hydraulic premium. FAI mechanical and hydraulic sources.

First, clear up a confusion. Mounting and activation are two different questions. Activation means how the deck is raised. A lip is the hinged end plate that reaches the trailer; service range is the manufacturer-stated distance above and below dock height. Phase identifies the electrical supply arrangement; it is a field for the supplier and electrician to confirm, not a wiring instruction.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Published dock leveler mounting and activation options
MountingActivation options we found published
Edge-of-dock (mounted at the dock face, no pit)Mechanical hand-lever · hydraulic hand pump · electric hydraulic
Pit-mounted (set into a concrete recess)Mechanical pull-chain · electric hydraulic · air-powered

Sources: Vestil Edge-O-Dock family, Vestil mechanical RR family, Vestil hydraulic EH family and Rite-Hite RHA-4000 air-powered leveler, reviewed 17 September 2026. These are manufacturer-published product examples, not an exhaustive taxonomy or a price comparison.

"Hydraulic versus edge-of-dock" is not a comparison — it puts a way of lifting the deck against a way of mounting it. You can buy a hydraulic edge-of-dock unit. You can buy a mechanical pit unit. Ask for both fields on every quote.

The matched pair

FAI publishes these named-model table amounts on its mechanical and hydraulic pages:

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Matched mechanical and electric-hydraulic model comparison
MechanicalElectric hydraulic
Seller model code / manufacturer reference checkedRR-68-20 / Vestil RR sheetEH-68-20 / Vestil EH sheet
Pit width × length74 × 86 in74 × 86 in
Manufacturer family rating20,000 lb Uniform Capacity20,000 lb Uniform Capacity
Standard lip length16 in16 in
Published service range12 in above / 12 in below dock12 in above / 12 in below dock
BumpersTwo laminated bumpers includedTwo laminated bumpers included
Standard powerNo electrical supply for pull-chain operation460V, 3-phase; other configurations available
Published FAI table amount$6,235.00$6,430.00
FreightExcludedExcluded
Source-capture age reported at review3 days6 months

Price sources: FAI mechanical table and FAI hydraulic table, reviewed 17 September 2026; USD per named-model row; neither table states an effective-price date. Specifications: Vestil RR-68-20 sheet, EH-68-20 sheet, EH approval drawing, page 1 and Vestil survey sheet. ● Difference: $6,430 − $6,235 = $195; $195 ÷ $6,235 × 100 = 3.1%.

The specification comparison uses Vestil sheets for the matching model codes; confirm the manufacturer and exact configuration in the quote. The mounting size and displayed capacity match, but not everything else is identical. These observations do not isolate what the hydraulic mechanism costs. The source captures have different ages, and FAI asks buyers to confirm final pricing. No general hydraulic-versus-mechanical premium follows from this pair.

For pit depth, the EH approval drawing specifies 24 in at the front and 23-3/4 in at the back. The online product title prints 224 in, which conflicts with that drawing. Use the equipment-specific approval drawing, not the title, for the required pit profile. The drawing also uses a different capacity label; do not treat labels across documents as interchangeable design approvals. Vestil EH-68-20 drawing dated 18 May 2011; current product sheet.

One more thing that a price comparison hides: power is part of the selected configuration. Vestil's EH standard is 460V three-phase, but its survey lists other voltage/phase choices. Vestil's electric edge-of-dock PE family is 115V single-phase standard. Neither fact prices the wiring at your building. Vestil survey and Edge-O-Dock specifications.

The maintenance-cost claim you will run into

Rite-Hite says a mechanical leveler costs about six times as much to maintain as a hydraulic one. Its linked explanation does give a period: a 10-year system life. The retrieved pages do not show the sample or calculation method needed to reproduce that comparison. RHH product page and Rite-Hite’s maintenance-cost explanation.

We are reporting that the claim exists and where it sits. We are not restating it as a finding, and neither should a budget. The ten-year comparison period is not a universal service life.


What the price tag leaves out

The equipment is one line; a complete project quote needs the rest of the applicable scope. We did not establish a defensible US installed-cost benchmark from the sources checked. So this section names the questions to resolve rather than inventing a range.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Thirteen dock leveler installation quote-scope questions
Scope itemQuestion to resolve
EquipmentWhich manufacturer, exact model, mounting, actuation, capacity label, condition, dimensions and quantity does this amount cover?
Factory optionsWhich factory options are included, excluded or separately priced—for example, lip length, weather stripping, insulation or a shallow-pit configuration?
Freight and deliveryIs freight included to this address, or quoted separately? What additional delivery charges remain?
Unloading and handlingWho unloads the unit and moves it to the bay?
Removal and disposalDoes the price include taking out the old leveler and disposing of it?
Installation labour and attachmentWhich installation work, attachment materials and approach components are included?
Pit and concrete workWho inspects the existing pit, and who prices any repair, steel pit edging or new pour?
Electrical supply and connectionWhat voltage and phase does the selected model need, and who prices the supply and disconnect?
Controls and related equipmentAre control stations, interlocks and related dock equipment included, excluded or quoted elsewhere?
Review, permits and approvalsWho determines whether this scope needs review or permits, and who carries the charge?
Testing, documentation and handoverWhat testing, documentation and warranty terms come with the installation?
Access and schedulingDoes the price reflect the agreed work window, and does after-hours work change it?
Tax and other stated chargesWhat applicable tax or other stated charges are outside the quoted amount?

Source: Uptime's original editorial checklist, reviewed 17 September 2026. Technical basis: Vestil survey sheet, RR options and EH approval drawing; freight examples: Material Lift Supply and FAI. The questions are not universal legal requirements or claims that each item is separately billable. Match the applicable scope to the project. Download all 13 lines.

Three of these deserve real attention.

Freight needs its own scope. Material Lift Supply states that standard less-than-truckload (LTL) freight to a commercial address is included in its $13,039 EH-710-30 offer. FAI states that freight is excluded from its table amounts. Those are not comparable totals until delivery scope is matched. Material Lift Supply and FAI freight terms.

Edge-of-dock is not a drop-in. Vestil lists a suitable steel dock edge, approach ramp or approach plate as a mounting requirement for the cited family. No pit does not mean no site preparation or installation work. Have qualified installers confirm the dock face and the equipment-specific attachment requirements. Vestil Edge-O-Dock family.

Powered units may bring an electrician. Vestil's EH-68-20 sheet says a crew must install it because of its electrical requirements. Confirm the selected power supply and who prices the applicable electrical work. Vestil EH-68-20 sheet.

The rule that keeps a budget honest

When a line on a quote is blank, it is unknown — not zero, and not included. Use four states:

  • Priced — a number is attached to this line.
  • Included in another line — and the quote says which one.
  • Not applicable — with an explanation of why it does not apply.
  • Unknown — nobody has answered it yet.

A quote with unknowns has not established a lower complete cost than a quote that priced them. It is just less finished. Our downloadable checklist has all thirteen lines with the question to ask on each.


Will it fit the pit you already have?

Pit fit can change the replacement scope, but a model name is not an installation drawing. We read all 56 standard models in Vestil’s RR chart and the relationship between the size code and the published pit dimensions is consistent.

A standard Vestil RR leveler described as "6 by 8" lists a 74 in wide × 86 in long pit, not a 72 × 96 inch one.

The rule, tested on all 56 models

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Vestil RR pit-dimension rules tested across 56 models
DimensionRuleHeld on
Pit widthnominal width (ft) × 12 + 2 in8 of 8 footprints
Pit lengthnominal length (ft) × 12 − 10 in8 of 8 footprints
Pit depth shown in family chart24 in8 of 8 footprints; full front/back profile still requires the model drawing

Source: Vestil Manufacturing Corp., Mechanical Dock Levelers (RR) model chart, 56 models read 17 September 2026. ● Rule derived by us from the manufacturer's published pit dimensions. It describes this manufacturer's RR family only — check any other brand against its own chart.

So the "nominal" size is not the hole. In this chart, the pit is two inches wider and ten inches shorter than the model’s nominal size converted to inches. That is an observed naming relationship; it does not explain the geometry or replace an approval drawing.

The lookup

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Vestil RR pit-dimension lookup by nominal size
Nominal size (W × L)Pit widthPit lengthChart depthChart weight range, 20k–50k lb capacity
6 × 5 ft74 in50 in24 in1,570 – 1,873 lb
6 × 6 ft74 in62 in24 in1,766 – 2,126 lb
6 × 8 ft74 in86 in24 in2,144 – 2,618 lb
6 × 10 ft74 in110 in24 in2,517 – 3,105 lb
7 × 5 ft86 in50 in24 in1,766 – 1,911 lb
7 × 6 ft86 in62 in24 in1,970 – 2,156 lb
7 × 8 ft86 in86 in24 in2,382 – 2,621 lb
7 × 10 ft86 in110 in24 in2,808 – 3,100 lb

Source: Vestil RR model chart, reviewed 17 September 2026. All 56 rows, with weight and deck thickness per capacity, are in the pit-dimension CSV. The family lists a 16 in lip and a 12 in service range above and below dock. Weight header: “Net Wt. (lbs)”; its footnote describes approximate shipping weights. Those labels are retained rather than assumed equivalent. The table is a reference, not construction approval.

Two practical notes from the manufacturers.

A shallow pit may still work. There is a factory shallow-pit option down to 17-1/2 in minimum depth. If your existing pit is shallower than 24 inches, that is a question for the supplier, not an automatic concrete job. Vestil RR shallow-pit option.

Pour-in-place can change the next replacement. Pentalift says using the leveler frame as the concrete form can lower construction cost but raise future replacement cost. Treat that as manufacturer guidance to investigate the existing installation—not a priced allowance for your building. Pentalift installation-method guidance.

And the line worth carrying into the conversation, because it comes from the manufacturer rather than from us: "Quoting a dockleveler installation for an existing pit can be difficult." Vestil publishes a survey sheet specifically for it. Ask how the supplier confirmed the pit dimensions, front and back depth, loading equipment and selected power—through that sheet or a documented site assessment. Do not enter the pit or go beneath a raised leveler to collect measurements.


Why two quotes for "the same" leveler don't match

A listing can describe overall size, pit size or nominal size—and those are different measurements. We found three separate traps, all visible in the sources.

Trap 1: the dimensions on the listing are not the dimensions of the pit

For the RR-68 / 20,000 lb size code, these sources publish different dimension labels:

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Dimension labels published for the RR-68-20 comparison
SourceWhat it publishes
Vestil (manufacturer)Pit 74 in W × 86 in L × 24 in D
Diverse Supply (reseller)"6' long × 8' wide"
Global Industrial (reseller)Length 100 in, Width 72 in

Sources: Vestil RR chart, Diverse Supply, Global Industrial, all read 17 September 2026.

Look at the middle row. Vestil's own family text says the line "includes 6 foot and 7 foot wide models in multiple lengths," and its pit width for this model is 74 in — the 6-foot dimension. The reseller has labelled the 6 as the length. Width and length are swapped.

The third row has an explanation. 100 in long × 72 in wide is the overall size with the lip, not the pit. Vestil's own Catalog 112, printed page 10 gives the RR-68-20 overall size with lip as 6 ft wide × 8 ft 4 in long. Global's dimensions agree with that convention.

None of this makes any seller dishonest. It makes the dimension label essential. Compare the full model and the same dimension type, then confirm the required pit against the manufacturer's approval drawing.

There is a separate unresolved discrepancy in the edge-of-dock records: Global lists 108 in overall width for its DLM DL-series 72 in offering, while DLM's DL-72 specification gives 110 in including bumpers. We keep both labels in the data and leave the quoted configuration for the supplier to confirm. Global listing excerpt and DLM DL-72 specifications.

Trap 2: the weights don't agree either, and freight rides on weight

The reseller price table publishes one value labelled “Weight (lbs.)” per size code; it does not identify that value as shipping weight. Vestil publishes capacity-specific weights in its family chart, but the chart labels the column “Net Wt.” while its footnote describes approximate shipping weights. The model-specific data sheets separately label assembled and total shipping weight.

● We checked all eight. Four of the eight reseller table weights fall outside the corresponding manufacturer family-chart numeric ranges. For the 7 × 10 ft size code, the reseller lists 3,690 lb against a family-chart range of 2,808–3,100 lb. That does not by itself prove a seller weight is wrong: packing, configuration, labels and document editions need checking.

Sources: Diverse Supply Weight column and Vestil RR family weights and footnote, reviewed 17 September 2026. ● Count checks whether each of eight reseller values lies outside the minimum–maximum across its seven capacity rows. The CSV keeps both source labels; this is not a like-for-like measured-weight test.

For RR-68-20, Vestil's individual sheet separately gives 2,141 lb assembled and 2,211 lb total ship weight, while its family chart gives 2,165 lb. Ask which current configured shipping weight the freight quote uses; do not substitute one label for another. Vestil RR-68-20 sheet and family chart.

Trap 3: one price includes freight and the other doesn't

In our dataset, Material Lift Supply states standard LTL freight to commercial addresses is included in its listed EH-710-30 price. FAI and Diverse Supply say freight is separate. Several other retrieved offers do not establish the delivery scope. Material Lift Supply, FAI and Diverse Supply.

A freight-included price and a freight-excluded price are not the same kind of number. Before you compare two totals, make both of them mean the same thing.


How old is the cost range you found?

A familiar $3,500–$10,000 material-only range appears in Rice Equipment's article dated 26 May 2016. That establishes what this publisher wrote then, not a measured national average. The broad US industrial material handling equipment producer-price index rose 62.9% from May 2016 to August 2026. Rice Equipment article and BLS WPU1144 via FRED.

Multiplying those historical amounts by that broad index change gives an illustration of about $5,700–$16,300, not an observed August 2026 dock leveler price range. WPU1144 measures producer selling prices for a broad equipment group; it does not price a retailer's model or an installed project. BLS PPI overview.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Illustrative WPU1144 index restatement of a historical price range
Hypothetical reference month★ WPU1144, 1982=100● Change to Aug 2026● $3,500 scaled by index● $10,000 scaled by index
May 2016209.100+62.9%$5,702$16,292
Dec 2019226.400+50.5%$5,267$15,047
Dec 2022288.573+18.1%$4,132$11,805
Dec 2024311.147+9.5%$3,832$10,949
Aug 2026340.672$3,500$10,000

Source: US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Producer Price Index by Commodity: Machinery and Equipment: Industrial Material Handling Equipment, series WPU1144, Index 1982=100, not seasonally adjusted, from FRED; data vintage 10 September 2026, reviewed 17 September 2026. US domestic-producer prices; not dock levelers alone. ● Formula: illustrative amount = $3,500 or $10,000 × (340.672 ÷ reference-month index), rounded to whole dollars. Later reference-month rows are hypothetical examples, not claims those dollar prices were observed then.

What changed in the broad price index?

The increase was not confined to one two-year window. These are three separate comparisons within the same broad US producer-price series:

  • ● May 2016 → December 2019: +8.3% over 43 months.
  • ● December 2020 → December 2022: +25.7% over 24 months.
  • ● August 2025 → August 2026: +4.1%.

Source inputs: BLS WPU1144 via FRED, vintage 10 September 2026. ● Formula for each interval: (ending index ÷ starting index − 1) × 100. The calculation shows index movement; it does not validate the historical article's cost range.

How to check an old cost range

Check the date, named models, price basis and included work. A range with no model, freight scope or method is not a like-for-like quote comparison. A current date in a headline does not establish when its underlying prices were collected.

We have not used a general service-life number, a nationwide repair-price range or a fixed installation allowance. Those would need their own supporting evidence. A useful budget can be built without inventing them.


Repair, replace, or buy used

We can tell you what selected units are published at. We cannot give you a defensible repair-cost benchmark from these sources. Rather than fill that space with a range, here is how to make the comparison yourself with numbers you actually have.

Get the repair quote itemised, then set it against a complete replacement quote for suitable equipment—not just the new unit’s price tag. Compare the repair scope, removal, installation, applicable site work, warranty terms and handover. No fixed “replace at X%” rule follows from these listings.

Weigh the time, not just the money. Retrieved seller offers include same-day shipping language for some edge-of-dock units, 40 business days for Global's RR-68-20 and an eight-week estimate for Material Lift Supply's EH-710-30. Those are seller estimates, not confirmed availability or installation dates. Get written repair and replacement schedules for your bay. Global category, Global RR-68-20 and Material Lift Supply.

Used equipment is a different comparison. Condition, completeness, what it came out of, transport, and whether it fits your pit are all open questions. We have not priced used equipment here and would not treat a used offer as comparable to the rows above without checking those differences.

One boundary worth stating plainly. A leveler that pops up under a forklift, drifts down under load, or won't hold position is a safety matter before it is a budget matter. Take the bay out of service and get it looked at. The economics can wait; that cannot. Vestil's RR manual says not to use a damaged or malfunctioning unit and not to force a lip that will not extend. RR manual, page 2, revision 13 May 2022. For the separate task of recording symptoms safely, use the dock leveler troubleshooting reference.


Questions to ask before you sign

Nine questions, each tied to something on this page. Print them, take them into the conversation.

  1. What exact model and rated capacity is this? A model number lets you check the price against published listings. "A 20,000 lb leveler" does not.
  2. What are the pit dimensions this unit needs — width, length and depth in inches, not the nominal size?
  3. Is this price equipment only, or installed? If installed, which of the thirteen checklist lines are in it?
  4. Is freight included, and to what kind of address? Confirm the commercial-dock, liftgate and access conditions in the written delivery scope.
  5. Who removes and disposes of the old unit?
  6. What happens if the pit needs work once it's open? Is that a change order, and who prices it?
  7. What voltage and phase does it need, and is the electrical work in this number?
  8. What is the lead time in writing? Ask for shipping, delivery and installation dates separately; a listing’s estimate is not a confirmed schedule.
  9. What is included in the box — bumpers, toe guards, anchor kit, approach plate, curb angle?

In the supplier’s documents, toe guards are the side guards beside the moving deck; an anchor kit contains the specified attachment hardware; an approach plate forms the approach to an edge-of-dock unit; and a curb angle is steel edging at the pit. Ask the installer which components the selected design actually needs. Vestil RR options, Edge-O-Dock mounting scope and EH approval drawing.


How we built this

On 17 September 2026 we checked retrieved issuer pages and issuer-owned search-result excerpts for selected US-facing dock leveler offers. The release contains 74 price observations from eight sellers: 56 reseller-matrix cells and 18 listing records. Of the listing records, 15 contain a single displayed amount, two contain an advertised “as low as” amount, and one contains a configurable range. These are observations, not 74 unique models or confirmed transactions.

We recorded the seller, the date and the retrieval basis on every row so anyone can open the same page and check us. The exact identifier, amount, price basis and source URL are also retained. A retrieved page can be cached; opening its text is not a checkout check. Source-capture ages are recorded where the retrieval interface supplied them, including the six-month-old FAI hydraulic capture and the 1.3-year-old Spill911 EH-710-20 capture. Their supplier price-effective dates remain unknown.

We checked manufacturer family charts, individual product sheets, a catalog, an approval drawing and a survey sheet to identify capacity labels, dimensions, weight conventions, power and options. Where a seller's figure disagreed with the manufacturer's, we kept both and said so. The 56-cell price/specification crosswalk maps Diverse Supply’s DS-RR size codes and capacity columns to Vestil’s RR chart; the reseller does not explicitly name Vestil in the retrieved table, so the join is not proof of manufacturer identity.

We separately checked 13 reference months from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics Producer Price Index for Industrial Material Handling Equipment, series WPU1144, in FRED’s 10 September 2026 data vintage. The download contains those 13 months, not the full monthly history. We used unrounded index inputs for the illustrative dollar calculations and rounded only the displayed results.

Every figure we calculated ourselves is marked and shows its formula. Source figures are labelled ★ Source-reported or identified as source-reported in the table’s source line. Mixed data rows identify which fields are reported and which are calculated. All arithmetic was computed from the cited inputs, and the inputs ship with the download.

Retrieval basis. The files distinguish retrieved page text, issuer search-result excerpt, issuer HTML catalog text, and PDF text and page image inspected. An excerpt supports only what it actually displays; an unknown field stays unknown.

What “verified” does not mean. It means checked against the named source representation on the review date. It does not mean the price is still current, that stock exists, or that the seller will honour it. Prices and manufacturer specifications are not independent equipment testing.


Limits

Stated plainly, because a reference that hides its gaps is not worth citing.

  1. These are published amounts, not transaction prices. Contract, negotiated or volume quotes may differ. Their direction and size are not established by this sample.
  2. A matching code is not a complete comparison. The 28.0% Global/Diverse difference uses matching RR size/capacity codes, but the reseller’s manufacturer identity and both effective-price dates need confirmation. Treat any single price as one observation, not a market.
  3. Installed cost is not covered. These checked sources do not establish a representative US installed-cost benchmark, and we do not publish installation dollar figures we cannot source.
  4. This is not a dock-leveler-specific price index. WPU1144 covers industrial material handling equipment as a group. It does not measure retail prices or installation charges.
  5. The data vintage is fixed. Our figures use the FRED table updated 10 September 2026. A later release can change the comparison; recheck the source rather than treating this illustration as a standing escalation formula.
  6. The 56-cell price matrix comes from one reseller's table that carries no publication or revision date. We opened it on 17 September 2026 and that is all we can say about its age.
  7. Three cells in that matrix are non-monotonic — the published price falls as rated capacity rises (RR-68 at 40,000 lb, RR-610 at 25,000 lb, RR-710 at 25,000 lb). We publish them as found rather than smoothing them. The reason for each decrease is not established.
  8. The pit-dimension rule describes one manufacturer's standard RR family chart. It held on all 56 models we checked. Confirm the full front/back pit profile and selected configuration from the model’s approval drawing; check any other brand against its own documents.
  9. The sample is concentrated. The 56-cell matrix comes from one reseller and the pit reference from one manufacturer. It is not a representative sample of brands, sellers, configurations or regions.
  10. Restating a price with an index is not a market price. It answers one narrow hypothetical question: what result follows when that dollar amount is multiplied by this broad index ratio?
  11. No substantiated air-powered price is included. That gap is not filled with an estimate.
  12. Price bases and source ages differ. Two listing amounts are qualified “as low as”; one record is a configurable range; one offer explicitly includes standard freight. Do not pool them as unconditional equipment-only prices.
  13. Weights are not normalised. Family-chart, assembled and shipping labels can differ, as can configurations and document dates. Their numeric differences do not establish an erroneous freight charge.

Uptime Dock & Door is a commercial service-referral publisher. We are not a manufacturer, a dealer, a laboratory or a repair contractor. Nothing here is a quote, and nothing here is engineering approval.


Sources

Source representations reviewed 17 September 2026. A review date is not a supplier price-effective date. Seller sources establish their displayed offers; manufacturer sources establish their stated specifications; neither is independent testing.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Dock leveler cost source register and evidence scope
PublisherSourceSupports
Vestil Manufacturing Corp.RR family; EH family; FM/PP/PE familiesCapacity labels, standard chart dimensions, weight headings, deck thickness, operation and options.
Vestil Manufacturing Corp.RR-68-20; RR-68-50; EH-68-20Individual model fields and assembled-versus-shipping weights; not independent tests.
Vestil Manufacturing Corp.Catalog 112, printed page 10; EH-68-20 drawing, 18 May 2011Overall size with lip; front/back pit profile; conflict with EH product-title depth.
Vestil Manufacturing Corp.Survey sheet; RR manual, 13 May 2022, page 2Quote-survey fields, power choices and safe-use boundary.
Diverse SupplyDS-RR reseller price matrixAll 56 prices, seller size labels, one weight value per size, freight scope.
Global IndustrialCategory excerpt; RR-68-20 listingSelected amounts, qualifiers, seller dimensions and shipping estimates.
Fabrication Authorities International (FAI)Mechanical table; Hydraulic tableRR-68-20 $6,235; EH-68-20 $6,430; freight excluded; final-price confirmation.
Material Lift SupplyEH-710-30$13,039 seller List Price with stated standard freight; eight-week estimate.
WebstaurantStore / The Yard Ramp GuyFM-3066; Bluff 30EP72$1,479 /Each and $2,416 seller-labelled factory list price; stated lead times.
Action Direct / Spill911SELCRG configurable offer; RR-68-40; EH-710-20One offered configuration range and two named-model observations; EH capture is aged.
Bluff Manufacturing / DLMBluff EP model table; DLM DL; DLM HEDCapacity labels and usable/overall dimensions; DLM 108/110 in disagreement kept separate.
Pentalift Equipment Corp.Capacity guidance; Selection guidance; Installation methodsApplication selection factors and attributed pour-in-place guidance.
Rite-Hite / ArbonRHA-4000 air-powered; RHH product page; Hydraulic or mechanical explanationAir-powered category; attributed six-times maintenance claim with ten-year period.
Rice Equipment Co.Article dated 26 May 2016Historical material-only range, not a validated national average.
BLS / Federal Reserve Bank of St. LouisWPU1144 data table; PPI overview13 selected monthly values, units and vintage; broad producer-price scope.

Source register: dock-leveler-cost-sources.csv. Each of its 33 records includes a direct issuer URL, document or model locator, edition when established, review date and retrieval basis. Source text, illustrations and manuals are not reproduced in the downloads.

Excluded, and why. Offers without a substantiated match between seller, model and price are left out. So are unsourced national installed-cost averages, repair-price rules and general service-life claims. Absence from this dataset does not establish that a figure is false; it means it is not used as evidence here.


How to cite this

Uptime Dock & Door Research. Dock Leveler Price Ledger, version 1.1. 74 selected published-price observations and a 56-model pit-dimension reference. Source representations reviewed 17 September 2026; supplier price-effective dates unknown. Dock Leveler Cost.

If you use a figure, please carry its qualification with it — a published seller amount is an observation with a named source and review date, not a national average, not necessarily a price effective on that date, and not an installed cost.


Download the data

The published data tables, in full, with source provenance and the formulas used here. No email required.

Scroll horizontally to view all columns.

Dock leveler cost data downloads
FileRecordsWhat’s in it
dock-leveler-published-prices.csv1815 single displayed listing amounts, two advertised lower bounds and one configuration range; seller, identifiers, scope, source age and basis.
dock-leveler-price-matrix.csv56Eight reseller size codes × seven capacities; joined manufacturer reference fields, both weight labels, arithmetic and decrease flags.
dock-leveler-pit-dimensions.csv56Standard Vestil RR chart reference: capacity label, pit W × L × chart D, nominal size, chart weight, deck thickness, lip and service range.
dock-leveler-quote-checklist.csv13Scope questions, four permitted status values and source basis; no invented project costs.
dock-leveler-price-index.csv13Selected WPU1144 reference months, index values, unrounded-input ratios and explicitly hypothetical dollar illustrations.
dock-leveler-cost-sources.csv33Every public evidence source, locator, edition when established, review date and retrieval basis.
dock-leveler-cost-data.jsonMatching public tables, headline calculations, formulas and limitations.
dock-leveler-cost-data-dictionary.mdField definitions, missing-value rules, source/calculate labels and reuse scope.

Source: Dock Leveler Price Ledger, version 1.1, source review 17 September 2026. CSV and JSON contain matching records. Empty CSV cells and JSON null mean unknown or not applicable to that field—not zero or proof that the source never published a value. The dictionary explains each field and price basis.

Reuse. The files contain factual source observations and our compilation and calculations. No blanket licence is assigned to third-party material, and no source prose, drawings or artwork are included. The source links let readers check the original material.


Uptime Dock & Door Research is the research and reference section of uptimedockanddoor.com. Uptime Dock & Door is an independent commercial service-referral publisher, not a manufacturer, dealer, laboratory or repair contractor. See the research library for related references.