# Fire Door Drop Test Requirement Ledger — data dictionary

**Version:** 1.1.0  
**Compiled by:** Uptime Dock & Door Research  
**Compiled and verified:** 17 September 2026  
**Coverage:** U.S. reference material with jurisdiction, assembly and edition scope identified per row.  
**Total rows:** 189 across seven CSV tables. This includes source records, review prompts and calculations, not 189 statutory obligations.

## What the evidence labels mean

**Source-reported** means the named document was checked and supports the attributed summary. An industry association’s reference to an NFPA clause is not relabeled as a direct reading of the full standard. **Calculated** means computed from the stated inputs. **Editorial judgment** identifies a review or safety recommendation rather than a reported requirement. In the checklist, all suggested responses to missing information are editorial even when the underlying criterion is source-backed.

## Files and fields

### 1. `fire-door-drop-test-requirements.csv` — 70 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `requirement_id` | Stable requirement/reference ID. IDs R-01 through R-70 remain available in this version; a row can be narrowed or corrected without changing its ID. |
| `topic` | Question group; not an industry code, measured population or severity classification. |
| `question_it_answers` | Reader question answered by the row. |
| `requirement_plain_english` | Attributed source summary or explicitly labeled editorial safety boundary, not a substitute for the governing document. |
| `applies_to` | Assembly, occupancy, jurisdiction or dated record population covered by that row. |
| `rule_or_guidance` | Authority class and limitations: regulation, named code, amendment, annex, association guidance, historical excerpt, manufacturer statement or editorial judgment. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `source_locator` | Page, clause, FAQ or named part of the source supporting the summary. |
| `source_edition_or_revision` | Source edition/revision, separate from verification date. A year is not a claim that a jurisdiction adopted that edition. |
| `evidence_mark` | Source-reported, Calculated, or Editorial judgment. The label describes evidence type, not authority or certification. |
| `verified_date` | 2026-09-17 for checks performed in this audit. Never update automatically on deployment. |

### 2. `fire-door-drop-test-clause-crosswalk.csv` — 31 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `requirement_topic` | Subject of the edition-specific locator. |
| `document` | Document or identified source family to which the locator relates. |
| `edition` | Exactly the edition supported by the quoted/reference source; as-published and amended versions remain distinct. |
| `clause_or_section` | Verified locator as carried by the identified source, including A. for explanatory annex material. |
| `plain_english` | Brief meaning or scope of the historical citation; not full normative text. |
| `who_confirmed_the_number` | Document that actually supplies the locator. This is not a claim of independent access to the full NFPA standard. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `verified_date` | 2026-09-17 for checks performed in this audit. Never update automatically on deployment. |
| `coverage_note` | Boundary on edition, assembly or direct/indirect verification; unknown mappings are not filled by inference. |

### 3. `fire-door-drop-test-report-review-checklist.csv` — 28 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `item_no` | Stable worksheet prompt number, 1–28. |
| `section` | Worksheet grouping. |
| `what_to_look_for` | Document-review subject. |
| `what_a_complete_record_shows` | A source-derived criterion/form feature or an expressly editorial request for useful evidence. Not every phrase is a mandatory form field. |
| `if_it_is_missing_or_unclear` | Uptime’s editorial follow-up prompt. Missing paperwork alone is not a failed door or proof a test step was skipped. |
| `item_basis` | Separates source-backed criteria/form features from editorial record-review requests and next steps. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `source_locator` | Page, clause, FAQ or named part of the source supporting the summary. |

### 4. `fire-door-drop-test-closing-speed-lookup.csv` — 19 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `assumed_curtain_travel_ft` | Illustrative actual bottom-bar travel, in feet; not an assertion that nominal opening height equals travel. |
| `assumed_curtain_travel_in` | Same illustrative travel in inches, using 12 inches per foot. |
| `assumed_curtain_travel_mm` | Same travel in millimetres, using 25.4 millimetres per inch; rounded to the nearest whole millimetre. |
| `seconds_at_24_in_per_sec` | Travel divided by 24 in/sec; movement time in seconds, rounded to one decimal. |
| `seconds_at_6_in_per_sec` | Travel divided by 6 in/sec; movement time in seconds, rounded to one decimal. |
| `seconds_at_9_in_per_sec` | Travel divided by 9 in/sec; arithmetic comparison only, not a confirmed minimum for every model. |
| `seconds_at_12_in_per_sec` | Travel divided by 12 in/sec; arithmetic comparison only, not a universal model limit. |
| `evidence_mark` | Source-reported, Calculated, or Editorial judgment. The label describes evidence type, not authority or certification. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `verified_date` | 2026-09-17 for checks performed in this audit. Never update automatically on deployment. |
| `assumption` | Movement-only measurement assumption and non-certification boundary. |

### 5. `fire-door-operator-closing-speeds.csv` — 5 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `operator_model` | Named manufacturer model; model descriptions cannot be generalized to other equipment. |
| `brands` | Publisher/product-family scope actually checked; not a dealer or certification claim. |
| `mounting` | Installation category when stated; otherwise a direction to the installed instructions. It is not a mounting procedure. |
| `manufacturer_stated_closing_speed` | Published wording with source inconsistencies retained. No unit typo is silently corrected into a specification. |
| `closes_on_alarm` | Manufacturer-described alarm behavior and applicable options. |
| `closes_on_power_failure` | Manufacturer-described response, including backup conditions; not independent testing. |
| `delay_before_descent` | Published pre-movement delay or a clearly labeled missing/conflicting value. |
| `auto_reset` | Manufacturer-described reset behavior; not instructions for performing a reset. |
| `fusible_link` | What the checked source actually says about link components. Not stated never means absent. |
| `evidence_mark` | Source-reported, Calculated, or Editorial judgment. The label describes evidence type, not authority or certification. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `source_url` | Actual primary manufacturer page for this model; must match the S17 grouped register URLs. |
| `verified_date` | 2026-09-17 for checks performed in this audit. Never update automatically on deployment. |

### 6. `fire-door-drop-test-form-currency-audit.csv` — 16 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `item` | Feature or topic compared between the two DASMA revisions. |
| `superseded_version_rev_09_17` | Summary of the legacy sheet and its attached form/guidelines; not the current governing rule. |
| `current_version_rev_06_25` | Summary of the identified newer revision; current here means the compared revision, not automatic local legal adoption. |
| `why_it_matters` | Editorial interpretation, not source-reported evidence of prevalence, cause or a new legal obligation. |
| `evidence_mark` | Source-reported, Calculated, or Editorial judgment. The label describes evidence type, not authority or certification. |
| `verified_date` | 2026-09-17 for checks performed in this audit. Never update automatically on deployment. |
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `interpretation_basis` | Explains the separation between document comparison and editorial significance. |

### 7. `fire-door-drop-test-sources.csv` — 20 rows

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `source_id` | Semicolon-separated IDs joining to the source register. A source’s quoted clause remains attributed to that source. |
| `issuer` | Issuer/publisher of the actual source read. |
| `document_title` | Name of the document or grouped manufacturer-page record. |
| `edition_or_revision` | Printed edition/revision or the actual limited status/date available. |
| `document_type` | PDF technical sheet, code chapter, regulation, policy, product page, historical excerpt or other source form. |
| `authority_type` | What kind of authority the source has; association and institutional summaries are not government rules. |
| `url` | Main source URL. A URL folder date does not override the document’s printed revision date. |
| `date_accessed` | Date evidence was checked, not the date the source was originally published. |
| `access_method` | How content was obtained, including issuer-page text returned by search or unsuccessful visual rendering where relevant. |
| `limitation` | Material source scope, missing verification, historical limitation or specification conflict. |
| `additional_urls` | Other URLs covered by a grouped source record, separated by semicolons; currently used for S17’s manufacturer pages. |

### JSON and printable worksheet

`fire-door-drop-test-dataset.json` contains the exact seven CSV row arrays as strings, plus metadata, formulas, known gaps and version notes. Numeric lookup strings retain the displayed precision. `fire-door-drop-test-report-review.html` is a printable rendering of all 28 checklist rows, with document-status choices and source links. It is not an inspection certificate and does not submit or transmit data.

## Calculations, assumptions and rounding

**Movement time:** `seconds = actual_curtain_travel_inches / average_speed_inches_per_second`. Convert feet using 12 in/ft and millimetres using 25.4 mm/in. The displayed distance is assumed to be actual bottom-bar travel, not automatically the opening height. Exclude any pre-movement alarm delay. Times are rounded to one decimal and millimetres to whole numbers. The calculation cannot establish smooth travel, full closure, reset, detector function or overall compliance.

**Worked example:** for 12 ft of actual travel, 12 × 12 = 144 in; 144 / 24 = 6.0 s and 144 / 6 = 24.0 s. The 9 and 12 in/sec columns are arithmetic comparisons with figures found on named manufacturer pages, not independent performance results or universally applicable model limits.

| Derived figure | Inputs and formula | Result |
|---|---|
| Compared revision-date gap | `(2025−2017)×12 + 6−9` | 93 months = 7 years 9 months; intermediate revisions also exist |
| Selected NFPA edition labels | Count `[2019, 2022, 2025]` in S18 | 3 labels; not actual publication dates |
| Width of published speed intervals | `(12−9) / (24−6)` | 3 in/sec / 18 in/sec = 1/6 |
| TIA issue-to-effective interval | 24 December 2024 minus 4 December 2024 | 20 days |
| Historical CMS extension | 1 January 2018 minus 6 July 2017 | 179 days; the memo describes six months |

## Missing values and conflicts

Blank source fields on a purely editorial checklist prompt mean it is not claimed as an externally prescribed form field. “Not stated” in an operator row means missing from the checked page, not zero, not absent hardware and not a failed test. The FireGard mixed-unit entry and AlarmGard delay discrepancy remain visible. No unverified value is changed to “Calculated.” A dash in the article’s edition table means an unconfirmed locator, not an absent requirement.

## Source and version boundaries

We did not independently read the complete NFPA 80 standard. NFPA’s issued 2025 amendment, DASMA’s own technical guidance, government regulations/code examples and the historical excerpts are separated by authority and edition. The final disposition of the separate 2022 proposal remains unconfirmed. The New York example is not a state-by-state survey or proof of its referenced NFPA 80 edition. Source S13 from version 1.0.0 was retired after its fresh retrieval could not be verified; historical IFC discussion now rests explicitly on S20, the current code example on S14, and GSA’s limited program statement on newly added S21.

Source facts, editorial mappings and calculations were reviewed separately. The same normalized row arrays generated the CSV and JSON distributions. Quoted source text does not confer a right to redistribute a complete standard or protected table.

## Suggested citation and reuse

> Uptime Dock & Door Research. *Fire Door Drop Test Requirement Ledger*, version 1.1.0, compiled and verified 17 September 2026. [Fire door drop test requirements](https://uptimedockanddoor.com/research/fire-door-drop-test-requirements/).

Uptime’s reference compilation, editorial prompts and calculations are distinct from the underlying copyrighted standards and manufacturer documents. Suggested citation is optional attribution guidance, not a backlink condition or a license to reproduce third-party material. No CC license or other third-party permission is asserted.
